• Bookmark

    NZCU

Corporate Values

Overview

NZCU has a consumer rating of 4.7 stars from 1,154 reviews indicating that most customers are generally satisfied with their purchases. Consumers satisfied with NZCU most frequently mention customer service, personal loan and interest rate. NZCU ranks 4th among Loans sites.

Positive reviews (last 12 months): 95.6%
Positive
1,103
Neutral
36
Negative
15
View ratings trends

What reviewers want you to know

Positive highlights

  • I had the pleasure of working with Sue and I was more than ecstatic with the customer service I received.
  • NZ owned/operated bank and got me a better interest rate on a car loan than any others on offer.

Critical highlights

No critical highlights yet

How would you rate NZCU?
Top Positive Review

“Very convenient, efficient, and organised way to secure...”

YAFA B.
3/4/20

Very convenient, efficient, and organised way to secure my personal loan in only two business days. I have contacted the customer support team and they reassessed my application with approval in the same afternoon. I highly recommend NZCU for all financial applications.

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“As an existing customer”

Joe Z.
3/4/20

As an existing customer. The process took an extremely long time. Struggled to speak to anyone regarding issues That come about. And perhaps private emails should have the correct customer details, like correct name. Very disappointed cheers

See critical reviews

Reviews (1,154)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

Reviews that mention popular keywords

customer service (41) interest rate (18)

Reviews from Related Businesses

yafab
YAFA B.
1 review
0 helpful votes
March 4th, 2020
Verified purchase

Very convenient, efficient, and organised way to secure my personal loan in only two business days. I have contacted the customer support team and they reassessed my application with approval in the same afternoon. I highly recommend NZCU for all financial applications.

joez24
Joe Z.
16 reviews
1 helpful vote
March 4th, 2020
Verified purchase

As an existing customer. The process took an extremely long time. Struggled to speak to anyone regarding issues That come about. And perhaps private emails should have the correct customer details, like correct name. Very disappointed cheers

theresae16
Theresa E.
6 reviews
1 helpful vote
December 6th, 2019
Verified purchase

I've been with NZCU South for a number of years. When I needed assistance e.g personal loan the service and staff were fantastic. They made me feel at ease explained everything thoroughly and helped me in achieving my goals. Everything was done on line and I highly recommended anyone wanting to either to take out a loan consolidate their money they will do everything in a professional manner. You have nothing to lose. Thanks NZCU South

elvirav4
Elvira V.
1 review
0 helpful votes
January 9th, 2020
Verified purchase

Am disappointed after my first payment then after a week got another debit in my account supposedly fortnightly. I couldn't contact them because it was holiday. I got no money to pay my power but it was sorted out but the prompt payment was not able to get it.
When I was desperate I have no choice I asked other agency to help me but charge me too much $600 inspite there is already $250 processing fee. Am greatful to NZCU approved my loan.

jessl99
Jess L.
1 review
0 helpful votes
November 7th, 2019
Verified purchase

I was reasonably happy with the fee after I had to negotiate it, but felt the advertising misleading.
Was very happy with Jeana and her service but once I had queries after the loan draw down I was passed on to someone else and my final inquiry was never responded to. This is reflected in my over all score on my feedback.

anonymousk113
anonymous K.
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
September 3rd, 2018
Verified purchase

The overall process ended up being rather complicated with various requirements having to be scanned and sent in and clarified specifically by me with other agencies. The customer service person was nice and helpful, but I did do a fair amount of the legwork myself to make the application work . I did recall this from last time also which is what had put me off returning again to do it. Had I not been on holiday from work it would have been very distracting to my day. However it is completed now and I am very happy I followed through.

anonymousi732
anonymous I.
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
February 6th, 2020
Verified purchase

Not impressed with all the scam emails for loans that came though and still are coming though. Started as soon as I got my first email from your company

kevinc727
Kevin C.
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 6th, 2019
Verified purchase

I am happy with the service but when requesting the loan, because we are loyal customers as we want to increase more money to add it to our loan and use it for our emergency

amym668
Amy M.
1 review
0 helpful votes
April 22nd, 2019
Verified purchase

it took nearly 2 weeks for a Personal loan to be set up and organised. the consultant I dealt with was hard to contact and understand our frustration of what were explaining to her.
it would have been the worst service I have had in a very long time. the faster we get this paid off the better. we will never use this online service again( application done over phone) the documents sent via electronically was so stressful and a very useless programme. my husband I and both took time off work 3 times to get this sorted, thankyou to the lady in the Invercargill branch was helpful and sorted this.

After all that I thought she would have waived the application fee from all the hassel and drama it caused. nothing was offered. not one solution.
The extra time we took to get this sorted and time off work was not ideal and put us out. the whole point doing it online was to avoid this situation.

ellieb53
Ellie B.
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 10th, 2017
Verified purchase

They totally screwed up my payment and sent it to a completely different credit card account that I didn't even supply them with. Meanwhile I've been trying to recover the money without any help or support from NZCU south its been extremely stressful. NZCU South referered me back to Kiwibank even though it was their stuff up.

candicea14
Candice A.
1 review
0 helpful votes
January 11th, 2017
Verified purchase

Greetings.
The staff were pleasant, courteous and replied to my messages in a timely manner.
As a first time money borrower the entire experience (which can't be mentioned here) for me, was absolutely horrible and at times brought with it tears and great anxiety. I have considered contacting customer care and may do so in the near future. With all that considered, I am sincerely grateful for the loan in the end.

Kind regards
Candice

mccannm
McCann M.
1 review
0 helpful votes
August 20th, 2017
Verified purchase

was a bit disappointing, was not told at the first point of contact, what information was required to proceed.
I did one thing expecting everything to go smoothly, and was told no... u now need this, and this happened three times.

juliana32
Julian A.
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
June 9th, 2017
Verified purchase

Very angry about not having local office to deal with .
It ment more time than nessary to complete process .
The whole reason I banked with Nzcu was because it "was" local....
Now not so much
What make you different from the rest of the banks now ?.......
Nothing
Why should I stay??....
No reason .......

hootst
Hoots T.
1 review
0 helpful votes
February 5th, 2020
Verified purchase

Hard to say, as there are so many great experiences ie customer service face to face and or by electronic communication, quick and easy service. The best part I love about Nzcu is that no matter who you talk to they no their job. Cheers

margarete65
margaret E.
1 review
0 helpful votes
June 1st, 2018
Verified purchase

I felt that it was more difficult applying for the loan on line than going into the office, previously I had loans within a few days, this loan took weeks, I had been to melbourne (reason why I was applying for the loan,) which I started 2 weeks prior to trip and eventually got it 1-2 weeks after I returned.

paulb1119
Paul B.
1 review
0 helpful votes
May 10th, 2019
Verified purchase

Great customer service when dealing with us and our home loan. It can be a little overwhelming but the team made us feel welcome and helped us through the process

rebeccaj87
Rebecca J.
1 review
0 helpful votes
August 13th, 2016
Verified purchase

While i am pleased with my interest rate, there were a lot of hoops i felt i had to jump thru. were i went to anz and everything was sorted with in the business day.
Was also very confusing when i asked to swap vehicle securities now that i have purchased a new one. I asked about redrawing the loan as non secured as an option as i wasn't sure what to do about car. Couldn't really get a clear response. I still have to swap cars over
Will be interesting tomorrow morning when i call again.

merlez
Merle Z.
1 review
0 helpful votes
February 7th, 2020
Verified purchase

Sue from the Sydenham Branch in Christchurch was so amazing and really respectful in her management of service used.

craigi7
Craig I.
7 reviews
0 helpful votes
April 30th, 2018
Verified purchase

it took quite a few days longer than it used to for the loan to be approved and transfered but still very happy with the service from all staff

jeanm135
Jean M.
9 reviews
0 helpful votes
November 15th, 2018
Verified purchase

The process is fast and I am happy with that. I received the funds when I needed it urgently. However communication is not good. First, i asked to disburse the funds into my account (and written that on the form) but they sent it to my partner's account. Second, we agreed and even revised the contract to indicate my first payment will be on 23/11/18. But my first payment was charged on 14/11/18 as opposed to what's written on the contract. So many inconsistencies that made me feel the staff are not following what is written on the contract or to any details I wrote on the form. I even contacted a support staff about this, i was assured and advised it's all sorted but then again there's still some issues. I hope the staffs will pay attention on to all the details that their client has requested or written on during application. This is about money hence the contract must be meticulously followed. Thanks

carolynm215
Carolyn M.
1 review
0 helpful votes
August 11th, 2016
Verified purchase

Everyone's
Just so friendly and helpful they try to help no matter what the situation is to help life be a little bit easier which they did for me

fredj66
Fred J.
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 11th, 2017
Verified purchase

Application went well. Waiting for approval no one checked that they had met all my requirements till loan approved had to wait to read about my loan on docu sign. Once I had lending support contact Jeana she was amazing and so helpful and sorted my loan.

tamarao18
Tamara O.
1 review
0 helpful votes
March 5th, 2020
Verified purchase

Really happy with the speed and overall customer experience. Would like a lower interest rate on loan offered, that'd be great.

shanem126
Shane m.
1 review
0 helpful votes
October 7th, 2018
Verified purchase

I didn't ask for an extra loan on top of what I had and still waiting for a call back to give the money back

ivani33
Ivan I.
1 review
0 helpful votes
April 20th, 2017
Verified purchase

I am grateful to have been able to borrow the money that was approved, however I ended up having to borrow from another lender to get close enough to the amount required. Leaving me having to make repayments equal to the quoted repayment for the initial request

Be the first to write a review

0 person has requested a review of this site

Q&A (0)

Questions? Get answers from the NZCU staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

How do I know I can trust these reviews about NZCU?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members

See reviews as you browse with our Firefox extension

4.7
2,308 reviews
Have a question about NZCU?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business