We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
  • Bookmark

    ParcelMonkey UK

Corporate Values

Overview

ParcelMonkey UK has a consumer rating of 1.27 stars from 45 reviews indicating that most customers are generally dissatisfied with their purchases. Consumers complaining about ParcelMonkey UK most frequently mention customer service problems. ParcelMonkey UK ranks 202nd among Shipping sites.

  • Service
    14
  • Value
    14
  • Shipping
    14
  • Returns
    13
  • Quality
    14
Positive reviews (last 12 months): 0%
Positive
0
Neutral
0
Negative
21
View ratings trends
2
See all photos
How would you rate ParcelMonkey UK?
Top Positive Review

“Excellent”

craig f.
1/17/19

Cant fault these guys - I use them all the time and the provide a great service - really good prices and very easy to use. Thank you very much for a great service

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“Do not use”

Olga W.
7/31/20

They do not honor the insurance claims. Come up with all sort of excuses. The latest one, to qualify for insurance I have to have PayPal invoice dated not less than 6 months ago. How is invoice or even more the software the invoice was issued with is relevant? It is not. They will simply find what you don't have and make it a mandatory requirement. Very poor responses as well, literally to get any answer you need to leave a negative feedback somewhere. Don't use them, there are plenty of other alternatives online.

See critical reviews

Reviews (45)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

olgaw16
1 review
2 helpful votes
July 31st, 2020

They do not honor the insurance claims. Come up with all sort of excuses. The latest one, to qualify for insurance I have to have PayPal invoice dated not less than 6 months ago. How is invoice or even more the software the invoice was issued with is relevant? It is not. They will simply find what you don't have and make it a mandatory requirement. Very poor responses as well, literally to get any answer you need to leave a negative feedback somewhere. Don't use them, there are plenty of other alternatives online.

tobyc77
1 review
1 helpful vote
December 14th, 2020

On a couple of occasions PM have issued us with considerable extra charges after a parcel has already been paid for and sent. They claim it is because of weight discrepancies. Yet we send the same parcel with them using the same courier many times and the weights are always the same and accurate (in fact we always add a couple of 100 grams to be sure).

We will not use PM again because at best they're incompetent and at worst fraudulent.

nazlia1
1 review
3 helpful votes
June 10th, 2020

First, the courier didn't pick it up on the agreed date. Noone has even apologised. Then we arranged a new collection date. This time they collected it. But the parcel sat lying around London depot and noone has returned the item. When I contacted them, they said the parcel was oversized despite the fact that it was the exact same measurements I entered. No one had even bothered fo get in touch with me untile I contacted them to as what was going on. Bow, I am extremely distressed as I fear they either lost or damaged the item. Horrible nightmare!

afzalb1
1 review
1 helpful vote
April 27th, 2021

Had a time sensitive package that needed to be delivered and although ParcelMonkey were more expensive than others thought I'd take a punt as it was a Next Day service. Took a day off from work and when it came to 4pm I started getting nervous so tried contacting PM. Unfortunately, the only way of doing that was through LiveChat (no way of calling in and speaking to someone). LiveChat was practically no help and told me to wait until 6pm. Needless to say no one came and there was no explanation why and no offer to check with the courier.

Ended up cancelling as having spoken to a few others in my line of work they had the same experience so decided to take my customer elsewhere from these cowboys and ended up paying 1/3 less. AVOID AT ALL COSTS!

Tip for consumers:
Go elsewhere they're not even the cheapest

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
alans177
5 reviews
6 helpful votes
July 6th, 2020

Booked and paid through Paypal online, i went through Parcel monkey and also paid for extra insurance to cover a cost of £200,00 toward item. Parcel monkey used Parcel force who of course smashed my item and i had to refund the buyer £207,00. I am now fighting for my compensation through Parcel monkey who are trying their hardest to avoid the situation and are lying to me, they are even telling me they will refund my original Paypal transaction that will include the insurance and will not have to settle my claim.

lucab67
1 review
0 helpful votes
March 29th, 2021

This company lost 2 out of 4 parcels in less than 3 weeks and did not refund me. Their customer service is dreadful (the write to you like a robot would) and refused to help when I contested a return. An incredibly dodgy company.

Tip for consumers:
Avoid it at all costs!

Products used:
Sending parcels to Europe

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
katrinaw77
1 review
2 helpful votes
August 21st, 2020

Paid for 48 hour delivery, our boxes arrived 3 days late. This we could cope with but when the boxes did arrive they were severely damaged. Whole sides were ripped off boxes and various items were smashed, broken and damaged. We packaged everything in line with the guidance and so we are obviously extremely disappointed with this service.

We took out insurance and this counts for nothing! They are refusing to give compensation for things NOT on the restricted items list. Absolute cowboys. They have broken so much of our stuff and I will have to replace it all myself.

vincem96
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 6th, 2020

First and last time I will use Parcel Monkey. I dropped off my package at Fedex on November 5,2020 to start the process to go to EMS. It said it would take 7-10 days to get it to the destination in the Philippines. Last tracking was November 19,2020 arrived in London. No more tracking information after that. It's been 30 days and now it's December 5,2020 and still not arrived. I have written so many inquiries on issues and still no response. What kind of company is this. I would have rather just paid double with FedEx, UPS air DHL to make sure I can track my package or talk to a human being to resolve this issue. HIGHLY UNACCEPTABLE!

ianl131
1 review
1 helpful vote
June 12th, 2020

Sent parcel to Poland beginning of March, several days later was returned on 25th March. This was due to Covid and businesses being closed. DPD said so via an email that parcel was automatically returned.
12th June my parcel has arrived in Southampton with me having to pay another £17 to have it returned to me as seemingly I wrote down the wrong address.
I have emails from DPD proving otherwise.
Parcel Monkey say its my responsibility to make sure businesses are open before sending. It WAS!
STAY AWAY

marian405
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 18th, 2020

Paid for a service that picks up and deliverers to the address, no they didn't do that, they left package at the airport and can't collect as they have international tracking number, so I can see where package is but unable to collect as they need tracking number, on top of that they won't respond to messages and can't provide me with tracking number, just won't respond, absolute jokers

steved1058
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 16th, 2020

It looked to good to be true and it was. I have been charged extra money as apparently my parcel was bigger and weighed more than stated. Sadly Parcel Monkey can't provide evidence and push that back onto the customer to provide and even more worrying that have quoted me 2 different parcel sizes and 6 different weights. Beware they can charge you what they like retrospectively!

lukem273
1 review
0 helpful votes
March 18th, 2021
Verified purchase

Scam company. Paid over £20 for a parcel to be delivered. The courier was DPD who did not provide a payment link for customs to be paid after several requests and promises they would provide it. As a payment link via email was the only way the customs could be paid. ( I even called the countries customs who said the courier DPD would should send a payment link via email as this was the only way the payment could be made) DPD still did not send the link to me or the recipient and after 6 days after numerous calls and web chats therefore customs sent it back to the UK. Parcel was returned to parcel monkey and not myself, then parcel Monkey wanted me to pay another £20+ for it to be returned to me. I had numerous cahrs with their customer service and explained it was not my fault but the lack of DPDs action however they refused to take any responsibility and see no wrong doings by the courier. All they keep telling me is to write a letter of complaint or take legal action. The customer service is the worst I have ever experienced and my career is in the high level customer service sector. I've now paid parcel monkey a total of £46 for nothing.

Tip for consumers:
DONT USE

Products used:
International shipping and return

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
jonathanb926
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
July 21st, 2021
Verified purchase

Strong advise against using this parcel broker, go direct to the courier. Dubious and suspicious recharges. Very Poor.
AVOID

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
syeda157
1 review
0 helpful votes
January 6th, 2021

Review date 06/01/2021
Run away as far as you can from this service if you're a business. If there was a way to give a zero star, I would have selected that, that is how bad the service is. I've had to deal with so many errors and mistakes. Missed collections, missed deliveries, tracking links not working. And to top it off, I told them in advance that I will miss collections because the tracking link is not updating but they still kept insisting don't worry and I've had collections being missed up to 2-3 days for individual parcels. So collection was made 3 days late and everyday, it was the same story. And when they know they messed up, they don't respond to the ticket, they wait for hours to pass so you really cannot say anything. There is no form of communication over telephone. When you ask to complain, they give a postal address to write to, so the complaint system is dated 2 centuries ago. Beware, if you do decide to use them on a regular basis, remember, you yourself will be working as an employee to keep on top of the orders because their team is useless. I even spoon fed them with the issues and problems and they still couldn't help. The most horrible experience ever. Had to move to another provider as it was effecting me mentally and just kept me angry all day long. And of course, my customers were upset with me because their products were being delayed.

Tip for consumers:
Only use as one off. Don't use it as a business service. Very horrible customer service and regular issues with deliveries.

Products used:
DX 24 Courier service via Parcel Monkey

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
lukew118
1 review
2 helpful votes
May 9th, 2020

Their insurance is a scam, they will not pay for any damages and hide their list of prohibited items so you're not aware when booking

jont251
1 review
0 helpful votes
January 14th, 2020

Ok so things go missing, however I've used parcel monkey a hand full of times and had issues twice with missing items.

The latest situation is that they won't give you compensation unless you have the invoice for the item sent, this assumes that every item being sent is new and has an invoice.

Shoddy service and an even worse compensation policy...

benjaminw229
1 review
1 helpful vote
March 30th, 2020

Mixed feelings about Parcelmonkey, customer service is a joke! Have used them several times, but twice they've messed up big time. They promise next-day collection and delivery services, but then couriers fail to arrive - so ends up being 'rebooked' and the delivery has ended up being three days late as result. Parcelmonkey don't have a telephone number and hide behind online messages, there isn't even a 'live chat' (which they say they have, but it isn't there now). When I reported the problems they just replied back with a big list of legal T&Cs saying they were not responsible. Doesn't seem like a great company policy to me to take no responsibility for what your business is supposed to deliver. I had to ask three time for them to escalate the issue, which they said they did, but then I never heard from them again - they just ignored all my follow-up messages and requests. If you want a reliable service with customer service AVOID PARCELMONKEY, do yourself a favour and use another service.

moulshrees
1 review
0 helpful votes
June 25th, 2021

This is horrible service provider. They will take your money and lost your luggage. I booked an overseas courier and they conveniently misplaced it and then said we are not responsible.
DONT OPT FOR THIS. Pay extra to others instead

Products used:
Didn’t get any

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
alr147
1 review
2 helpful votes
July 1st, 2020

What an absolute disgrace of a company
They lost my item and gave me 7 days to produce a receipt or they wouldnt pay me.
I was unable to obtain the receipt in that time due to the company I bought from being closed due to Covid so I had to wait for an email back confirming purchase.
Parcel Monkey told me I was too late and the case is closed!

marceloh22
1 review
0 helpful votes
March 9th, 2021

The company just lost my package and don't give me any explanation.
The only explanation was "Unfortunately we lost your package".
They don't have any responsibility to manage someone's object.

Edit 2021-03-09:
They still saying "Unfortunately we lost your package".

Tip for consumers:
Do not use Parcel Monkey.

Products used:
The package sent was lost by Parcel Monkey.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
laurat764
1 review
0 helpful votes
January 8th, 2021

Two months on & I'm still waiting for the insurance payout for an item I sold on eBay that was broken in transit to the buyer.

I submitted all the papers needed for the insurance claim on 11 Nov 20 and have messaged ParcelMonkey repeatedly asking for updates on the claim.

I was advised that ParcelForce has had to send a second questionnaire to the recipient as part of the insurance claim.

However the recipient says they completed the first questionnaire six weeks ago (Parcelforce Worldwide Claim WC-2165393 - Damaged Goods Questionnaire).

This reflects badly on me as a vendor and I have now paid the recipient myself and am out of pocket £125 until ParcelMonkey pays out on the insurance I paid extra for.

My recommendation is to avoid ParcelMonkey at all costs.

andrewd1066
1 review
0 helpful votes
March 25th, 2021

I've been using parcelmonkey for several years - July 2019 is the earliest entry on my account page.

I just sent a box of easter confectionary to some relatives - the box was of very good quality and in new condition. Internally it was stuffed with bubble wrap and the brown paper that Amazon use with their boxes.

On delivery the box was so squashed that both sides of the box had burst open, one ripping the box staples that joined it together.

Clearly DPD has put something very heavy on it - even though the box was light itself.

Laughably I choose to pay extra for DPD over ParcelForce as I thought that they were suppossed to be more reliable!

The contents were all broken. OK - so I cannot claim for the confectionary as they list this on their exclusion list (it seems that most things are nowadays).

But I am apparently not even entitled to a refund of the carriage - as the parcel was delivered and so they deem that "the service was provided although the parcel was damaged".

So it seems that I cannot now expect that any parcel I send is not to be mistreated and abused, as that is what has clearly happened here.

A great attitude and a great way to loose customers.

What a joke.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
ashm49
1 review
0 helpful votes
February 1st, 2021

Advice: steer clear pay via PayPal!
Item posted 30/12 with parcel force 24. Their website reports this will be next working day, that said I expected it may be 02/01 although 31/12 is a working day. Item got lost then didn't arrive until 06/01. Given I paid a premium for this service and it was not sold as described, naturally, I wanted a refund, I would have received a better service elsewhere and not had the stress of worrying about losing an important parcel. Parcel monkey have been unhelpful and are selling a service which in their customer responses (*** customer service rep manager) advises the package can take 5 days?! If this is the case it should be advertised as parcel force 'workingweek' and sold as such. I have requested refund from parcelmonkey to no avail. Parcel force will not refund as parcelmonkey took my money not them, which I get. Had I have booked direct with parcel force I would have got 50% refund, Service not sold as advertised. PayPal refunded the full amount a month later after I raised a case with them. Otherwise would have been small claims court out of principle. Parcel monkey should not attempt to defraud customers of their consumer rights by using their t's and c's. Won't use again. Steer Cleer.

Tip for consumers:
Don't bother, pay through PayPal if you must use.

Products used:
Shipping

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
amyg710
1 review
1 helpful vote
December 11th, 2020

Ordered Express24 and left the parcel in the shop a week ago. But the parcel has not been collected yet so contact the customer service team but not very helpful, just keep saying "will chase the courier to pick it up asap" and still waiting... Really disappointed in their service!

naomih116
1 review
0 helpful votes
April 12th, 2021

TLDR: Always pay by credit card to protect against any of Parcelmonkey's scams and volatile terms and conditions. This way if the service is not as described, your credit card company can open a case against them to recover your funds. Don't be fooled by their ‘you agreed to our t&c's' waffle - if their terms are dubious, they will not be upheld in court. They charged me ~£18 to send roller skates to Europe. The skates got held up in UK customs with no attempts made to contact the buyer or sender. The skates were then bizarrely sent to Parcekmonkey. They didn't go via Parcelmonkey depot, they went directly from me, so I don't know why this was required at all, certainly not an eco-friendly service or company. Then it became obvious why it goes via them - they then charged me an additional £14 to have the skates posted to me under the reason "Dear Sir/Madam, Your item has been returned to us because the recipient refused to pay customs duty." This was a lie that was later admitted - they made no attempt to contact the buyer or myself and I know this as it was my phone number provided to customs. Anyway, no refund given by parcel monkey for either the initial parcel where no delivery or contact attempts were made, or for the subsequent charge to return the item to me. And by the way they limited my response time to have the item returned to me to 21 days - at which point they would ‘dispose' of the item - I. E. sell it themselves on their eBay account. My advice to ANYONE thinking of using this company is to pay by Credit Card because you're really going to need the added protection that comes with using one when dealing with corrupt, scamming companies such as Parcel Monkey. ~£30+ to have some skates sit at UK customs and then returned to me 3.5 weeks later. Official complaint made to Navin Ramiah (MD) at head office, which I won't expect a reply to - not once did my complaints and messages get acknowledged by management, so there'll be a Subject Access Request to follow. Probably going to have to go small claims court if the credit card company don't successfully chargeback, but I will out of principle. Dreadful support staff also.

Tip for consumers:
Just pay by credit card. They’ll value and prioritise your order way more with the risk of a chargeback hanging over their heads and will be less likely to commence their usual shenanigans.

Products used:
Postage service

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality

Q&A (3)

Answer:

They come up high on Google search, but it was total waste of money. They broke the parcel and refused to honor insurance claim. Don't got for cheapest, will cost you eventually

By Olga W.
See more answers (2)
Answer:

ABSOLUTE SCAM OF A COMPANY - DISGUSTING TREATMENT FROM THEM - STAY CLEAR - USE SOMEONE REPUTABLE

By Al R.
Answer:

NO THEY ARE SCAMMERS, THEY RIPPED ME OFF, NEVER AGAIN WILL I USE THEM

By Al R.

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the ParcelMonkey UK staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

Courier service quotes from Parcel Monkey for simple, low-cost shipping. Arrange for cheap parcel delivery to UK addresses and abroad

How do I know I can trust these reviews about ParcelMonkey UK?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members
Have a question about ParcelMonkey UK?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business