• Bookmark

    TheHistoryBunker

Corporate Values

Overview

TheHistoryBunker has a consumer rating of 4.92 stars from 154 reviews indicating that most customers are generally satisfied with their purchases. Consumers satisfied with TheHistoryBunker most frequently mention customer service, leather jacket and high quality. TheHistoryBunker ranks 1st among History sites.

  • Service
    22
  • Value
    22
  • Shipping
    21
  • Returns
    9
  • Quality
    22
Positive reviews (last 12 months): 100%
Positive
4
Neutral
0
Negative
0
View ratings trends
11
See all photos

What reviewers want you to know

Positive highlights

  • I recommend The History Bunker wholeheartedly and will return for further business.
  • Excellent quality and price for a tailor-made leather jacket.

Critical highlights

No critical highlights yet

How would you rate TheHistoryBunker?
Top Positive Review

“German WWII horsehide leather coat”

Peter M.
7/30/20

Absolutely fantastic product, I must admit we had a few issues at the start, but that was only because my isp and Marks were not talking to each other. Mark is probably the most understanding person I have had any dealings with. Any way back to the item. Well made, really good fit, looks like it will last a lifetime, it'll certainly outlast me! I'd have no reservations buying from The History Bunker again, although Mark might have other thoughts about me :)

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“Horrible”

ataliste B.
3/5/19

Simply ordered 1 Hat, waited 1 month with no updates, contacted them to see what was going on. Mark got back to me and claimed that he would contact his hat maker. Waited another 2 weeks with nothing, contacted him again just to see if he had ANY information about it but still none. Eventually he refunded me and said that he would contact me when the hat does arrive, that was in January, and of course still nothing. Ridiculous waste of my time.

See critical reviews

Reviews (154)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

Reviews that mention popular keywords

history bunker (55) leather jacket (14) customer service (13)
peterm1200
1 review
0 helpful votes
July 30th, 2020

Absolutely fantastic product, I must admit we had a few issues at the start, but that was only because my isp and Marks were not talking to each other. Mark is probably the most understanding person I have had any dealings with. Any way back to the item. Well made, really good fit, looks like it will last a lifetime, it'll certainly outlast me! I'd have no reservations buying from The History Bunker again, although Mark might have other thoughts about me :)

johnm7131
1 review
0 helpful votes
April 11th, 2021

I have ordered several items such as WW11 German tunics and most recently a magnificent German officer's leather coat, I am truly amazed at the exceptional detailing and workmanship on these military outfits. Mark comes across as a very passionate artist in his field of authentic reproductions in military gear. I have a collection of mainly Civil war reproduction clothing (probably the only collection in Australia) none have been as perfect as Mark's works. You are a credit to your business.

Tip for consumers:
Don't know really

Products used:
Purchased German officer's leather jacket most recent
and previously tunics from German army

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
kellym646
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 9th, 2019

12/9/2019: I ordered a WW 1 German Flier's leather jacket and two pairs each of WW II panzer wrap pants and German grey service shirts on Aug 9/19. The website says 6- 8 weeks and often longer especially for leather goods. I waited 10 weeks and enquired and was told by the owner he would check but he thought it was ready. A few days later a FedEx label is created and the package sent. When it arrived it was only the jacket which was well made except for some of the buttons which popped off on the first use and no interior pocket as advertised. I then enquired about the rest of it. "Oh we're shipping this weekend" was his response. Again, (days after "this weekend" a label is created etc. Again the package comes and it is only one pair of pants and one shirt. Again - where is the rest of it? AGAIN "we're shipping the final (his word - final) shipment this weekend." Again, days later the label is created and the package eventually arrives. Only one pair of pants, no shirt, and the pants are not to the bespoke measurements given and appear to be off the rack (actually they look used). Frankly, they don't even seem to be quite the same pattern!

Update 12/10/2019: I engaged with Mark and he has refunded for the shirt not sent and the pants. The shirt he stated was supposed to be sent but wasn't. As for the pants it appears whoever packed the last shipment just grabbed off the rack. I appreciate his quick response to this. The articles that were shipped are of very high quality. If you are ordering be aware that the time duration seems to be very long on items you wouldn't think should take so long. Again, this was 17 weeks.

markp54
Mark p. – TheHistoryBunker Rep

Hi Kelly, thanks for the updated review, I’m glad we could leave things on a reasonably even keel and that you are happy with the quality of the items you did receive

Kind regards

Mark

fredrikh
1 review
1 helpful vote
August 4th, 2016

Bought a pair of British battledress trousers and a para smock, made to measure. Couldn't be happier with the result or the help I got on the way.
Highly recommended

karenh2974
1 review
0 helpful votes
November 11th, 2021

The History Bunker is local and what a treat it was to visit. A great selection of WW1 and 2 uniforms in excellent condition and perfect for our production of Dads Army. Also available for hire are all the accessories i. E. boots, helmets, braces medal bars, Home Guard armbands etc - what a joy to have everything in one place. Mark was a fountain of knowledge with a great emphasis on attention to detail. Kept in touch via email which were always responded to promptly. Had fabulous comments about the uniforms during show week from our audience. Won't hesitate to use again when we do another production of Dads Army. Many thanks.

Tip for consumers:
They hire as well as sell

Products used:
Trousers jackets braces belts helmets armbands hats boots gators medal bars pouches bags

Service
Value
Quality
atalisteb
1 review
1 helpful vote
March 5th, 2019

Simply ordered 1 Hat, waited 1 month with no updates, contacted them to see what was going on. Mark got back to me and claimed that he would contact his hat maker. Waited another 2 weeks with nothing, contacted him again just to see if he had ANY information about it but still none. Eventually he refunded me and said that he would contact me when the hat does arrive, that was in January, and of course still nothing. Ridiculous waste of my time.

markp54
Mark p. – TheHistoryBunker Rep

Hi, I’m sorry you had such a poor experience, we had trouble with a particular supplier and therefore felt it best to refund rather than keep you hanging on for any longer. I will also add that we do make many items to order which can take 6 to 8 weeks

glennl57
1 review
2 helpful votes
December 6th, 2018

Many emails over several months trying to get one hat. When asked for shipping tracking number they were never able to provide one. After repeated requests they still could not figure out the problem and eventually gave refund. Don't waste your time with these folks unless you have no other options.

markp54
Mark p. – TheHistoryBunker Rep

Hi, customer had a hat on back order, he then informed us that he had acquired one elsewhere so he was duly refunded - emails between us were always amicable on both sides, so the review is quite puzzling.

giacomoo2
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 1st, 2021

I bought a tailor size french 1914 full uniform, the materials are good and the shade of blue is nice; it fits me very well and in a realistic way.
There are some really small details imperfections here and there (for example the straight end of the collar tabs) but they don't ruin the overall look of the uniform.
I'm really happy with it, overall a great uniform!
Sad thing it doesn't comes with the kepi anymore.

To be honest the transaction wasn't smooth at the beginning and there were some misunderstandings,
At first I received a Bleu Horizon uniform (also that one is nicely made), I was upset at first but all the problems were solved in less than a day thanks to Mark.
Talking about the amazing customer service and problem solving, it's very pleasing talking with Mark and it's speed in answering to your questions is astonishing; also Mark helped me in an amazing way with the custom measures and for the other customisation for the uniform, also solved the other uniform problem in a very pleasing and unexpected way.
I can say that this was the best customer service I've ever experienced, the customer is the number one priority and you can clearly feel that.

Tip for consumers:
Slightly higher resolution pics and more of them

Products used:
Greatcoat, jacket and pants

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
raymondb453
1 review
0 helpful votes
September 1st, 2021

I bought WW1 P07/10 Imperial German Soldier TUNIC. I would recommend the tunic as first class. Materials tailoring design and authentic looking all are of the best quality. Price I also thought was great

markusk16
1 review
2 helpful votes
March 6th, 2019

I have ordered a leather jacket. When it came to choosing the right size, I needed some assistance. Mark was extremely responsive and all questions were answered, jacket had to be custom made. Order placed, jacket arrived within the communicated lead time.
I am extremely happy with the quality and the fit of the jacket provided. Heavy leather, good craftsmanship, it could not get any better!

Tip for consumers:
Talk to the owner, he is very responsive and helpful

Products used:
WW1 German Motorcycle despatch rider jacket

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
markp54
Mark p. – TheHistoryBunker Rep

Thanks Markus, much appreciated- Mark

markg557
1 review
1 helpful vote
January 31st, 2019

Custom made U Boat gear. I was super happy with the quality, and fit.
Will buy more gear there for sure.

luish57
1 review
0 helpful votes
September 11th, 2018

Very pleased with the quality of jacket, Police Trousers and Glengarry Cap.
History Bunker Crew (Mark) also guided about Trousers and Cap to match the uniform to avoid long time for receive all them, I'm very pleased with the personal contact they did.
Ultra fast and very good shipment, only takes four or five days from the order day to have the package at home (U. K. to Spain).
Very happy with this order, highly recomended!

holgerg1
1 review
0 helpful votes
March 23rd, 2019

I have ordered an uniform jacket (Anglo Zulu war period) and got a perfect fitting masterpiece of highest quality. I only had to send my individual measurings after a chart, provided by the seller. This work is absolutely worth the money. The seller communicates very friendly and fast and answered me immediately any question I had, no matter if it was about the work or the historical background of the uniform.
I can recommend this seller highly!

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
philippes9
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 11th, 2018

Perfectly adjusted and manufactured in a high quality fabrics. Superb work in the manufacture of both uniforms. Excellent communication with Mark store manager, always a quick answer to the questions asked. Always kind and considerate.and he is a man of his word, a man of honor. My wife and I are very happy with our outfits.
Shipping on time. I highly recommend if you want a uniform that meets the chosen period and quality at a reasonable price.
Thanks, Mark, thanks History Bunker!
Philippe et Isabelle Sorensen
Normandy France

hansa28
1 review
0 helpful votes
February 14th, 2019

The History Bunker is a nice company to work with! Living on the continent (Netherlands) and not knowing the exact differences in cloth sizes I decided to go for tailor fit. Got personal help where needed from Mark. Great experience. The final result is perfect, looks nice, fit splendid.
Thanks guys!
Regards, Hans

zbynekm
1 review
2 helpful votes
October 13th, 2019

I bought replica trousers -German from WWII and they are very good quality, fit perfect and soon I will order something more- The History Bunker is the best company for vintage clothes lovers. Thank you Mark.
Kind regards
Zbynek Mac Tire

theodoreo4
1 review
1 helpful vote
March 6th, 2019

Yesterday I received a great German WWII SS uniform from "The History Bunker". The items came within the noted timetable of 6-8 weeks. This uniform will be used in a scifi WWII movie project later this summer in the U.S. The uniform fit perfectly and was produced so well... that I will be recommending The History Bunker to all my German WWII re-enactors. Thank you for the best uniform I have ever acquired since 2001! Ted

sergiom55
1 review
0 helpful votes
February 1st, 2018

I bought my calvary uniform to create a Red Baron for The Edwardian Ball here in San Francisco. It was the wrong size. Mark worked with me returning the original uniform and was able to get a custom size back to me in time for my soiree. He answered all my questions over the phone and was so very courteous both on the phone and in his emails. Now if I can get him to make Victorian Royal Navy uniforms?

Tip for consumers:
Call or write to get the measurement guide and have someone take your size before ordering, then call Mark and go over the sizing. This will save time and money in the long run.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
alanc246
1 review
0 helpful votes
February 28th, 2019

I never ordered a tailored coat before and had no idea on how long it would take and everytime i would inquire about my order i would promptly receive a email on the status of my order from mark when i recived my coat it was above and beyond what i expected absolutely beautifully made coat that fits like a glove i cant say enough about it but if you want a authentic replica of a Gestapo leather great coat look no further than the History Bunker

andym216
1 review
0 helpful votes
February 23rd, 2019

Had a little predicament with sizing but thanks to Mark's help and patience I finally got the outfit I wanted. Boer War uniform that I turned into a vintage safari outfit. Unlike most reproduction companies that don't alow customization. This company does. Definitely look forward to dealing with them in the future for more custom historic outfit ideas.

melissam258
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
February 17th, 2018

Perfect fit as always.
Outstanding quality and worth every penny.
Great communication with the store, always a quicl respons to questions asked.
Of you want fast and cheap looking rip offs go to Aliexpress.
If you want real historical correct and a quality product that wil last you your life time shop here.
This became my favorite store really fast after my very first order.
5 stars always.

alexb446
1 review
0 helpful votes
April 5th, 2019

I recently bought a German WWII uniform from History Bunker, that was too large (my mistake). I was able to return it, and Mark was very helpful in getting me another one that was just right. The quality of the uniform is excellent, and overall my experience with History Bunker was great. I definitely recommend buying from here.

miroslavb2
1 review
0 helpful votes
January 19th, 2018

The communication with the History Bunk was perfect.
The jacket was perfectly done: tailored, first grade leather.
Everything from the start such as inquiry of information to ordering and delivery was very good.
It is also not my last order, i will definitely order much more staff.
Jaro G., Slovakia

robertk598
1 review
0 helpful votes
January 25th, 2019

Received my leather u-boat pants yesterday afternoon. Perfect! Great fit. Can't say enough good things about them. Can't wait to show them off. Worth the wait.

Products used:
Custom leather u-boat pants

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
marcob84
1 review
0 helpful votes
March 12th, 2019

I have just received a WW1 Scottish cutaway tunic and am very pleased and satisfied. The price is reasonable and the time of delivery respected. Great communication and assistance under every aspect. Highly recommended seller

Q&A (3)

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the TheHistoryBunker staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

We deal in, as well and manufacturing, reproduction military uniforms, mainly from WW1 and WW2

Company Representative

markp54
Mark p.

How do I know I can trust these reviews about TheHistoryBunker?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members
Have a question about TheHistoryBunker?

Related articles and tips

6 Prom Dress Disasters

Prom season is here, and you deserve to look and feel amazing for your big party! Whether you are attending prom for the first... read more