We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
  • Bookmark

    PPI Claim Back

Corporate Values

Overview

PPI Claim Back has a consumer rating of 2.45 stars from 22 reviews indicating that most consumers are generally dissatisfied with their purchases. PPI Claim Back also ranks 201st among Furniture sites. The most common issues with PPI Claim Back are around customer service, which is not as good as expected by some customers.

How would you rate PPI Claim Back?
Top Positive Review

“I bought from Variete a dinning set like 1 month ago”

Laura I.
3/23/12

I bought from Variete a dinning set like 1 month ago. They delivered my order after 2 working days and they also sent me tracking info by email. I had a small problem with one of the chairs that has been damaged in transit, but I have called them and sent an email and a replacement has arrived at my address in 3 working days. Really fast, very competent people. I definitely will use them again.

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“Ordered a TV stand January 14,2013”

Jim B.
1/21/13

Ordered a TV stand January 14,2013 1 week has passed by and still no goods, progress on tracking says "Processing" Telephoned the 0800 contact number, was informed by young lady "don't know what the problem is. Will get someone to call or email you straight back" Still waiting. I'll come back and let you all know how it ends, but so far NOT GOOD.

See critical reviews

Reviews (22)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

emmaa5
1 review
1 helpful vote
July 3rd, 2012
Ordered a playhouse as a child's birthday gift which had a 10 - 15 working days delivery on it. They assured me it would be delivered on time & it didn't arrive. Spent ages on the phone & email chasing it and being told misinformation about the order status. Courier was supposed to call to arrange delivery, they just left it on street outside our house. I complained to company and still no reply over two weeks later. Shocking customer service
catherinem8
1 review
1 helpful vote
July 11th, 2012
It's nice to know that there are still good companies that care about their customers. My sideboard arrived with a small manufacturer fault and Variete handled the matter in a prompt and efficient way. I'm so impressed with the level of help they gave me.
I shall be happy to continue to visit and order from their site.
fionar1
1 review
2 helpful votes
April 2nd, 2012
Horrible experience. Only part of the item ordered was delivered. Had to wait months for replacement. Was promised 30% discount for my inconvenience. Problem is they won't actually give me the refund though. Have been chasing for months and just get fobbed off. They don't care. They don't try and resolve the problem. This company is a MAJOR disappointment. I really hate being lied to. Please AVOID.
claired12
1 review
1 helpful vote
February 25th, 2013
Ordered item from them early January - still not received despite several promises to deliver. Terrible customer service do not reply to emails and could never get through on the phone. Do Not Use This Company.
mehulr1
1 review
1 helpful vote
February 8th, 2013
They messed up the delivery of the order. I had to return the items, and they also messed up the collection of them. It was impossible to speak to someone, and it all had to be dealt with via email. When I've asked to actually speak to someone, they say that its only sales who have access to a phone. Never use them!
dc27
1 review
4 helpful votes
July 30th, 2012
Terrible. They sell good they don't stock – it then turns out that they have no idea when they will actually be in stock! We've spent all our time chasing them up – they don't keep you updated at all. Still waiting for our goods several months after we ordered them. Avoid at all costs.
susang24
1 review
1 helpful vote
December 4th, 2012
I ordered a TV unit and they sent me an email to inform me it is out of stock and with their promise to keep me informed I have waited for my goods to be delivered when available. And they did keep their promise. I received the TV stand on the exact day requested and it is of excellent quality. I really appreciate Variete for their efficiency and professionalism. Thoroughly recommended!
davida52
1 review
1 helpful vote
July 16th, 2012
Variete Stores – A Review

If you only read the first couple of lines then the main message is:

Do not use Variete Stores they will let you down badly.

Here goes a little more detail.

I ordered a near £300 parasol from this company over a month before a big event I needed it for. I considered this plenty of time as the website stated a 3-5 day delivery.

The following then took place:

A confirmation email and payment taken two days later

After a week of waiting I emailed as it had not arrived. I was informed the order had been lost but it would be delivered asap.

On 4 separate occasions I was informed a delivery would be made but it was always lost or not put through. Twice this involved me waiting in my house for a whole day when not convenient after being promised the delivery would be made.

On the 5th attempt at delivery the wrong parasol was delivered

By this time it was the week before the big event we needed it for (in this terrible summer a parasol was crucial!) and with 3 days to go and a month since ordering I was told it was now out of stock and they would pick up the old one but I just had to deal with it.

They would not talk about compensation at all until the transaction was completed which of course it now will not be! And the customer service was passive aggressive with requests being ignored and no ownership over any of the issues taking place.

In summary they took my money and kept it for a month, lost my order, failed to deliver 4 times, then delivered the wrong item before informing me three days before when I needed it that it was out of stock.

Essentially there are fundamental issues with this company in both their logistics management and the customer service.

I am sure that sometimes items get delivered properly and it will seem smooth but you should know that if there is any form of issue it will be dealt with extremely poorly.

Stay away from this company and it's associate brands.

Cheers

Dave
liamd4
1 review
1 helpful vote
January 4th, 2013
I purchased an item from Variete.co.uk on 18th December 2012 which stated on their website it would be delivered within 24 hours and they confirmed by email that it would be delivered before Christmas. But on 24th December it still had not been collected by the courier for delivery, so I cancelled it with Variete for a refund, and on 27th December the courier confirmed on their website's tracking system that the trader cancelled the collection of the item from the supplier. (In short, I cancelled my order before it was shipped for delivery.) By 1st January 2013 I had received no confirmation of a refund, so I checked the tracking system again and it stated the item had been delivered on 31st December after being collected from the supplier on 29th December. It stated they had left the item outside without a signature (despite specifically stating at time of order to leave it with a neighbour if not answered, and not to leave it outside). There was nothing outside my property, so I checked with Variete to see if 'successful delivery' meant it had been delivered back to them, which is was not. I am now fighting for a refund from Variete as I never received this item in order to return it for a refund, but they are insisting it was delivered and refuse to refund me until it is returned to them. I am still arguing for a refund on the grounds that I cancelled the item on 24th December and, at that time, the item had not yet been collected from the supplier by the courier, so therefore, as far as the law is concerned, my purchase/contract with them had ended on 24th December, perfectly within my 7-day cancellation window. If the supplier then proceeded, five days after the cancellation notification, to offer the item to the courier and the courier then proceeded to deliver it by leaving it outside my property without signature, which then went missing, I do not consider myself responsible for its lost because I cancelled my order five days before it was shipped so, by law, any continuation of the delivery process would be considered unsolicited post. The fact that the courier has lost the item, even by leaving it outside my property, has nothing to do with me as I cancelled the purchase before the courier even collected it from the supplier. I have spoken to a solicitor and submitted a complaint to the CAB (for forwarding to Trading Standards) and they support my claim for a refund. However, this matter is still ongoing. Very unprofessional company who have very little knowledge of consumer law.
ianr18
1 review
1 helpful vote
December 14th, 2012
On 1 December, we ordered and paid for a large toy to be delivered for a child's Xmas. The item was described as "in stock" on Variete's site.

By 14th December the Variete tracking system still didn't show the item as dispatched so we phoned and were told "we don't have the item in stock any more". When we asked why they hadn't told us but had taken and held onto our cash, we were simply told - you will have to wait 5-7 days for a refund.

So - we are out of pocket for the next week, don't have the present, and it's now too late to order a replacement elsewhere! On behalf our grandson - thanks Variete!

We are writing to Trading Standards in Sunderland as we have now seen other complaints online from dissatisfied customers.
jenniferg9
1 review
1 helpful vote
February 20th, 2012
Excellent customer service, helped me choose matching seats to my dining table and they were delivered within 3 working days. Could not fault this company and reccommend them to everyone!
laurai2
1 review
1 helpful vote
March 23rd, 2012
I bought from Variete a dinning set like 1 month ago. They delivered my order after 2 working days and they also sent me tracking info by email. I had a small problem with one of the chairs that has been damaged in transit, but I have called them and sent an email and a replacement has arrived at my address in 3 working days. Really fast, very competent people. I definitely will use them again.
jamesm98
1 review
1 helpful vote
December 31st, 2012
jimb76
1 review
1 helpful vote
January 21st, 2013
Ordered a TV stand January 14,2013

1 week has passed by and still no goods, progress on tracking says "Processing"

Telephoned the 0800 contact number, was informed by young lady "don't know what the problem is. Will get someone to call or email you straight back"

Still waiting.

I'll come back and let you all know how it ends, but so far NOT GOOD.
alid
1 review
1 helpful vote
July 10th, 2013
I order an item which was a 5 to 7 day delivery 16 working days later and nothing i email twice and phoned twice i was told, they would get back to me and yet nothing when i did get in touch they told me this item would not be ready to 12th december. Shocking i asked for a refund. They did not try and make any contact to say there was a delay, not even a sorry. I WOULD NOT USE THIS SITE AGAIN
stanw4
1 review
3 helpful votes
April 19th, 2012
I have used Variete on several occasions since discovering it and have been very pleased with the service I received every time. The items I ordered were of excellent quality and deliveries have always been on time. I would not hesitate to use them again and would recommend them to anyone!
Thank you Variete!
addies9
3 reviews
5 helpful votes
December 3rd, 2012
I ordered from Variete twice before and always had positive experiences, I have no real issues to report. The last thing I ordered was a sofa I liked that I spotted on the site, I was told when it should arrive and it got here at that date (I ordered on a Thursday and I got it the following Tuesday) and the sofa was exactly as advertised. These other comments worry me as I have never had any problems with them, the whole process always went perfectly smooth. I'm happy with their products and services, especially the prices, and will order again if I ever need another piece of furniture.
marks75
1 review
1 helpful vote
September 19th, 2012
WARNING: COMPANY REFERRED TO TRADING STANDARDS

This company ripped me off.

I purchased a furniture set from their website. The accompanying photograph showed a coffee table, lamp table and sofa table. In the 'what's included' description, it clearly bullet-pointed the three items. When only two were delivered (late, of course) I rang up to see where the sofa table was. They said it wasn't included and wanted an additional £200.

In error or otherwise, it definitely was. They have now changed their website – adding a field to select an optional sofa table – but will not send me the goods I have paid for. This clearly contravenes the Sale of Goods Act 1979 because the goods were not as described.

And they will only accept returns if I pay for the large items of furniture to be sent to them. This is totally unacceptable, seeing as they haven't sent me what I ordered and paid for. When you try and complain, you can never talk to anyone. When I emailed them asking why I should pay to return items due to their breach of contract, they have cut me off all together.

Citizens Advice has now referred Variete.co.uk to Trading Standards. DO NOT DEAL WITH THIS COMPANY. It's everything you fear when you buy online from an unknown source.
johnc137
1 review
2 helpful votes
November 14th, 2014
I just love it! They rock!
steved6
4 reviews
12 helpful votes
April 20th, 2011
Poor customer support, do not keep to the delivery promises... a BAD experience. AVOID at all cost.
noelm1
1 review
1 helpful vote
July 10th, 2012
Don't use this company. I ordered a Shire Abri 7x7 Apex Shed from them and paid for itin full and £19:98 for delivery. 5 days later they wanted another £30 for delivery and blamed their supplier for the charge. I was told I would receive my shed in 20 days time and that was my order gone throught. 7 days later they emailed me to say they had cancelled my order and they would refund my money as the item was no longer available. I checked their website that night and the same 7x7 shed was on sale for £70 more than I had paid for it. I emailed them back and they wouldn't sday why they never offfered me this shed as an alternative. I questioned the price hike an dthey put it down to the, manufacturer revision change. I emailed them back and they never replied to my mails again. Their terms and conditions are a joke quote "Prices and availability of products are subject to change without notice" Trading standards are investigating this matter.
keria2
3 reviews
7 helpful votes
October 26th, 2011
Very good service, I ordered a double bed and mattress and within 2 days I had an email and telephone call to book day in for delivery. The goods arrived and took me an hour before I was flat out on my new bed. Would recommend to any one. I have just ordered a bedside table to match my bed...,.

Q&A (1)

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the PPI Claim Back staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

How do I know I can trust these reviews about PPI Claim Back?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members
Have a question about PPI Claim Back?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business