We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
  • Bookmark

    Virgin Media Ireland

Corporate Values

Overview

Virgin Media Ireland has a consumer rating of 1.22 stars from 41 reviews indicating that most customers are generally dissatisfied with their purchases. Consumers complaining about Virgin Media Ireland most frequently mention customer service and direct debit problems. Virgin Media Ireland ranks 96th among Internet Service Provider sites.

Positive reviews (last 12 months): 0%
Positive
0
Neutral
0
Negative
5
View ratings trends
See all photos

What reviewers want you to know

Positive highlights

No positive highlights yet

Critical highlights

  • FYI: This is exactly the reason your customer service rating is SO poor.
How would you rate Virgin Media Ireland?
Top Positive Review

“If Carlsberg did Media... Indeed!”

Don R.
10/25/17

I was quite sceptical about media providers, having had very bad experiences with two major competitors. Virgin was my last resort, and they seemed almost helpful when I contacted them by phone.The 'Self' installation involved a few further calls, but each time I was speaking to someone in minutes, as opposed to circa 40 minutes. My last interaction has just finished, and it was a visit by their engineer Glen Geraghty. I understand that Glen is still under supervision, as his minder Mark called to see how he was getting on. Well, if Glen is representative of the people Virgin are recruiting, then there will only be one provider in a few years. He was so totally committed, explaining everything as he went along, and refusing to leave until he was fully satisfied that we were perfectly happy with everything. If Carlsberg did Media... Indeed!

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“Worst customer service”

Thomas F.
9/11/20

Hold times of over 2 hours. I'd avoid this service as there seems to be no customer service put in place but they are fast enough to cut your service if you're short on a payment due to losing my job over the Corona. We have to be understanding with them over the Corona impact but they can't be understanding to us. Cancelling contract as soon as someone bothers to answer the call.

See critical reviews

Reviews (41)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

Reviews that mention popular keywords

customer service (13)
thomasf689
1 review
0 helpful votes
September 11th, 2020
Hold times of over 2 hours. I'd avoid this service as there seems to be no customer service put in place but they are fast enough to cut your service if you're short on a payment due to losing my job over the Corona. We have to be understanding with them over the Corona impact but they can't be understanding to us. Cancelling contract as soon as someone bothers to answer the call.
josephm1112
1 review
0 helpful votes
January 18th, 2020
32 bad reviews says it all... the biggest tv and braodband provider in ireland and you cant even get the biggest fight of the year on it... you ring up and its the same thing they say 8 months ago its coming soon! But this time one of the reps said he has a loop hole after i went are your really not showing the fight... so he told me to sign up to ufc fight pass and buy the subscription and doing so you get a 30 day trail and one fight card for free... a load of pony he told me just to get me off the phone id say... sort it out virgin 32 bad reviews dont lie
mochog
1 review
2 helpful votes
August 21st, 2017
• Updated review
Last time virgin media was horrible
Now after calling and complaining on the phone the internet is actually good
Its kind of annoying that you have to complain to get a good service
What happend this service?
August 21st, 2017
• Previous review
At night virgin media becomes horrible
At day its basically as bad
FIX THIS
What you should do is hire more workers or fire your previous workers who are doing the job badly because they are probably sleeping on the job
Our internet speed is slow and for a famous guy I know who haves the same broadband he isn't even able to create content
He does this as a living
Think about the people
davidc3302
1 review
2 helpful votes
June 26th, 2020
@VirginMediaIE
Got my services restricted in the middle of the pandemic with one-month arrears, no internet all morning, unable to work from home, when we called the agent 'Helen' was only looking for card details without even offering any payment options, felt horrible. Pouting face
donr85
1 review
3 helpful votes
October 25th, 2017
I was quite sceptical about media providers, having had very bad experiences with two major competitors. Virgin was my last resort, and they seemed almost helpful when I contacted them by phone.The 'Self' installation involved a few further calls, but each time I was speaking to someone in minutes, as opposed to circa 40 minutes. My last interaction has just finished, and it was a visit by their engineer Glen Geraghty. I understand that Glen is still under supervision, as his minder Mark called to see how he was getting on. Well, if Glen is representative of the people Virgin are recruiting, then there will only be one provider in a few years. He was so totally committed, explaining everything as he went along, and refusing to leave until he was fully satisfied that we were perfectly happy with everything. If Carlsberg did Media... Indeed!
liliq1
1 review
0 helpful votes
September 22nd, 2020
Not rewarding loyalty customer. On hold hours no reply. Never dealing with this company again. Terrible experience..
owenc54
1 review
2 helpful votes
November 12th, 2019
Right were do I start customer service right, ring them up to cancel my account they first claimed I was one day over my 14 day cooling of period when I new I was not so there started the hard sale warning me that my tv and internet was going of and kept refairing back to what I had talked about previously in the early stage of contract could not have said it more clearly I want to cancel it took me all of 1 hour to cancel with theses people god never again 70e for freeview CHANNELS please do not go near these. Hard sale you I would have hated to been an older person and not understood what was been said to me very misleading there customer service and dont no what cancel means. And I all so during the conversation ask to speak to supervisors or managers I was put on hold then came back to me stating all management was in a "meeting" then because he just would not cancel me let me go on my way for second time I ask to speak to management then I got one were his first words was sorry it was a human error I replied wot he went on to say I was sat here listening to the hole thing going and you are with in your 14 day cooling of period. Yes I got right the manager was there all along and told the guy to say he was in a meeting lie after lie then he said look you were not charged anything. Ok but think out loud how many human errors have you done if I was outside by one day of my cooling of period I would have had to paid for a years subscription to break free of contract. Very dangerous water virgin media. I sure your not allowed to do hard sales nor give faults information about management and certainly not about the contract I was on my 14th day today and i did make the comment so someone don't know how to count to 14 well for that reason you have lost a customer and would advise people to be careful of there terms and conditions because they will turn them to there advantage when it suits.
mars14
1 review
0 helpful votes
October 3rd, 2019
Disgraceful! 3 weeks I have no services and they are not even putting any effort to help me out! On top of all that they are charging me full price for services which are not working...
alexeye6
4 reviews
7 helpful votes
February 5th, 2018
• Updated review
After two price increases in 2016, +5 euro in Jan 2018. I would expect the support of loyal customers, while here it is vice versa.
Aggressive price politics
April 10th, 2016
• Previous review
"-":
1) Very aggressive price politics
2) Increasing price for previous/old packages (120Mb, e.g.) + making them unavailable for new customers (120Mb, 100Mb, 60Mb are not available now)
3) No packages with lower speed while 99% of users don't need the only 2 broadband pricey packages (240Mb & 360Mb)
E.g. user with standard WIfi or/and 100Mb Ethernet is unlikely able to use more than 100Mb (even technically).
I presume that a lot of users don't really notice/need more than 60Mb (exceptions - who downloads huge files)

[update on Nov-2016]
4) second notification about price increase this year: +5e in Jan'2016, and +2.5e in Nov, 2016 => old title confirmed again => -1 star (3->2)

"+":
Is really fast for those (maybe 1-5%) who really needs 240Mb and 360Mb
colins108
1 review
0 helpful votes
July 10th, 2019
Terrible customer service. Rude, passive aggressive staff. Cancelled and even that was an ordeal with an incredibly rude rep.
shaneo7
1 review
9 helpful votes
February 6th, 2017
I was going to sign up for Virgin mobile and decided to look up reviews of the service as I was mainly concerned with coverage. I'm glad I found these comments as it completely changed my mind.
johnw1121
3 reviews
1 helpful vote
May 17th, 2018
This is the worst company we have ever been with, there customer service
Is so bad, they not care about there customers.we had no internet for over 4
Months and we were still being charged. There call center in India is
Beyond a joke, we must have made 100's of calls and each time we
Were fobbed off, must have had over 12 engineers come and say the same
Thing its the cabling outside and Virgin now this but we were still charged.
It was great that it had come to the end of the contract so we left
As a good will gesture they gave is a measly £15. A joke, stay away from this
Company
majicg
1 review
0 helpful votes
September 14th, 2018
Charging people 97e for bundle of TV containing worst channels in history all +1. While new customers gets charged only 50e a month. After 5 years with them i was offered just the broadband for 59e a month while new customer gets everything for 50e. WOW! And trust me they will overcharge you for everything. Going to Sky now, hope Virgin will go bankrupt in Ireland
adamw47
9 reviews
32 helpful votes
October 30th, 2015
After few calls to UPC, now Virginmedia, I get this results when measuring internet speed at home:

Measurement 1, by Ookla, which I trust 100%

http://imgur.com/jTcKKe2

Meeasurement 2 by Virginmedia on their page, I dont trust at all:

http://imgur.com/ckAIzo5

So their advertisement should be, our Internet is 140Mbps, not 240Mbps...

Changed details on my bill 3 times in last 12 months over the phone, nothing happened yet.
mattr183
1 review
0 helpful votes
April 28th, 2018
Appalling service, you guys are scamming the country- how can you call yourselves a business? If i could rate 0 star i would. We were told that if we paid an extra 2 euro a month the internet would improve and it got worse insead! We have gone through 4 boxes and each time they claim the problem will stop but it doesn't. When we called them, they're employee was incredibly rude and was making excuses while trying to charge us an extra 50 euro for a mechanic to come out to fix a problem that is THEIR FAULT. Virgin should be paying for my netflix and playstation subscriptions because i have sat down and 60% of the time there isn't even an internet connection present. Projects can't be done as internet services virtually don't exist from about 6 till 11 at night. A cabbage would give off a better signal than you're services. Disgraceful company, highly unprofessional and if you're thinking of going anywhere don't pick virgin media! Just got a sky box today and are somehow saving money while getting better channels and a higher quality service.
niamhf3
1 review
7 helpful votes
January 12th, 2017
They literally took 100 euro out of my account one day and just completely denied it. They insisted it wasnt them, kept hanging up on me, and when i finally sent them my bank details showing them the transaction and they just ignored me and kept hanging up, no one knew anything, no one could help me. I then cancelled my account and was told I would still have to pay another 50 euro bill which I paid. Then a month later another 50 was taken from my account and they denied I had ever cancelled the account. ABSOLUTE COWBOYS.
danilom2
1 review
4 helpful votes
February 10th, 2017
I have a contract with Virgin Media ireland for 2 years, I called several times to ask them why every time they increased the price.
I got the contract for 45 euro a month and now I have to pay 62.48 euro a month.
I told them i sight the contract for 45 and then 55 but all the time the increase the price without my approval.
The virgin media answer was we can raise prices without customer confirmation. I will report this issue to consumer law and to the local garda station.
clairel26
1 review
8 helpful votes
May 11th, 2016
(No '0' option above) Previous telephone connection dial up was a hundred percent faster than this money making sham of a company, in this day there is no excuse. Pre-historic speed and appaling customer service. A good indication was the change of company without even so much as an information brochure. The competition are making it easy. Find another provider as quickly possible would be my advice. Over the phone as computer says NO.
billyk20
1 review
10 helpful votes
October 17th, 2016
Warning STAY AWAY! Signed up for my daughter. Was told unlimited data, calls and texts to any network on contract for 25 per month. Constantly being overcharged for data. Bills range from 97 to 150 euro per month. Even though they advertise Unlimited date it up to a max of 30 GB per month. Have checked the data usage on the phone and the max she used in any month was 14 GB. The same month I got a bill saying she used 42 GB and a bill for 150 euro. Customer service just keep fobbing me off. It's all a con Stay away!
yanisp16
1 review
0 helpful votes
May 30th, 2018
With Virgin in this country we are ripped off! With they HUGE HIGH prices! Better i stay without internet than to go with them. UPC was a lot better and human - with acceptable prices.
sabuj1
1 review
9 helpful votes
November 4th, 2016
I will not recommend Virgin Media to anyone. I purchased a bundle of 30 euro per month broad band and 400 minutes international calls. I was told all I have to pay 30 euro for 4 months after that 60 euro per month for 12 months. I only Purchased this bundle. Very first bill was 60.30 euro second month 167. Euro. When i called them they said i used international calls for the first month. Now, still it shows 297.10. Stay away from this company and their service.If u ever use strictly take extra caution.
nicolac14
1 review
8 helpful votes
November 19th, 2015
Horrendous. Staff are ill informed. Make up answers, put no notes on your file and you never hear from them again. Then you call up and have to start all over again - 4/5 times! Mess up deliveries - take up huge amounts of time sitting on hold getting frustrated and to top 22 calls later - get home tonight and there's no tv channels working. Even RTE says I'm
Not subscribed even tough fully paid! Utter nightmare is be better off with Rabbits Ears!
emilo1
1 review
13 helpful votes
May 3rd, 2016
Stay away from this "company" you'll get nothing more than just headaches from their "fast" internet. Ping is always high, and the speed they advertise is probably just their dream aim, 240 mbp/s?! Don't know why speedtest.net shows a more real number which is 7? Seems a huge difference or guys from virgin media forgot how to do maths? Their horizont boxes are of a very low quality as a WiFi router randomly turning off and on the WiFi... the range very small... quality can't be already worse they reached the bottom... just a tip stay as far as possible from Virgin Media
kahramanb
1 review
0 helpful votes
April 10th, 2018
I had UPC for 10 years with no problem, i have 2 business account with broadband and phone, first i received a bill with someones name with my business name, it took me 3 months to solve this problem, when i signed with Virgin in march we start to have connection problems at around 9 a.m. 13.00 and around 18.00 hours everyday we had same problem, we call them many times and they were keep transfer me second person and cut of (this happened 5 times). Then spetember 2017 there was no service in both shops, i took video of listening music when we ring virgin media till mid of october, no respond to emails, so i stop direct debit for payment, then somebody called me for payment in November which still internet wasn't working. I have 3 video records holding 20 min each times trying to talk with customer service. So i told the girl cancel my both account she said i still have to pay for contract till end, i told them that they broke the contract, so she told me that she can see no service and she refund me 2 months september and october, then we had same connection problems on december again.
mc563
1 review
1 helpful vote
February 14th, 2017
I closed my account in November 2016 as I was moving supplier. I noticed today that since that date, three direct debits have been taken from my account by Virgin. When I called them, I was told that the account had not been closed and they will not refund my money. Absolute disgrace.

Q&A (7)

Answer:

We've been with Virgin Media and UPC beforehand since 2008. The modem or the box has to be rebooted probably once a month. We're seriously looking at other options. We don't have fast internet because our cables limit the speed, regardless of what the provider is providing. Worth checking that too.

By Kaye E.

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the Virgin Media Ireland staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

Virgin Media provides great value fibre power broadband, television, Home Phone and Mobile Bundles. The home of Ireland's best broadband just got faster!

How do I know I can trust these reviews about Virgin Media Ireland?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members

See reviews as you browse with our Chrome extension

1.2
41 reviews
Have a question about Virgin Media Ireland?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business