We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation

L T.

4 Level 4 Contributor
  • 24 Reviews
  • 106 Helpful Votes
  • 0 Thank Yous

Experience: Computers & Technology, News, Art & Design

Member since September 2014

  • Reviews

    24

  • First Reviews

    9

  • Thank Yous

    0

  • Fans

    0

  • Profile Views

    2,364

Review Distribution

24 Reviews by L

8/3/20
I used to use their "Free YouTube to MP4 Converter" for backing up my old videos and it was great when it was actually free. HOWEVER now when you use the program they slap an ugly watermark that takes up 90% of the screen, right in the center so it make the download completely useless! If you want to remove the water mark you HAVE to pay them. Then why is it still called "FREE" if it's not actually FREE?! AVOID THIS SITE AND THEIR SOFTWARE!
7/20/20
• Updated review
Every time I have ever had an issue with my order (which has only been about 3 times over the years I have bought things from this site) customer support is very fast in responding and addressing the issue right away, they always offer replacement at no additional cost. This is by far my favorite print on demand service and the great customer support makes me want to continue to shop on this site.
Good experience
7/15/18
• Previous review
I had ordered a tank top from here and while the quality of the shirt was good it didn't fit right. When I contacted them about it I was refunded my money with no questions asked, they didn't even ask me to return the shirt. While I didn't get a shirt I am still giving this place a good rating because of their great customer service.
6/14/20
I used to love tumblr, I really did. But the site just keeps getting worse and the customer service is terrible. Every time I have ever tried to contact support they either ignore me or brush me aside.

As an example, I recently found out that if you put link in your post the post will NOT show up in the search or tags. The site doesn't tell you this (as far as I know) and when I asked support directly they made up some excuse about not every post showing up in search and how great that was. I had to clarify what I was saying and for some reason the next person who responded to me proceeded to give me instructions on how to make a link post. That wasn't what I was trying to do nor related to my question about why post with links don't show up in search or tags. I tried to clarify myself again and so far they have ignored me completely.

If you ever get locked out of your account getting it back will be a headache. (Unless they have changed their process in the past year, which I doubt) At least my experience of trying to unlock my account after the two factor authentication process locked me out of my account was pretty bad. (I never received the the codes and requested it too many time so the account got locked). When I tried to contact support they told me that I had to post a photo of myself holding a sign that says "Tumblr, this is literally me" on the blog that I was LOCKED OUT OF in order for them to help me further. Thankfully I was still logged into my account on my phone, because if I hadn't I would have had NO way to do what they were asking. Worse still is when I e-mailed them back asking why I had to do that they did not respond. Days went by and nothing. So I gave in and did what they wanted and sent them the link with all the info they wanted from me and they STILL did not respond. WEEKS go by and still nothing. So I try contacting them from a different email and they respond to me THAT DAY. (and I was finally able to get my account unlocked) So that means that they literally BLOCKED my other email for DARING to ask why I had to post a photo of myself on my blog that I was LOCKED OUT OF. Again, if I had not been logged into the account on my phone via the app I would not have even been able to do what they asked and they gave me no other alternative! All I did was ask why I had to post a photo of myself and if there was another method of proving who I was. I don't think I was being unreasonable by asking that.
5/24/20
• Updated review
I ordered TWO items from a seller and for some reason they sent only ONE item to me. Seller has answered none of my direct messages so I started a dispute. Sometime later I got a message telling me I received the package even though I had made it clear I had only received ONE item in the package. Talking with the Live Chat they wanted the shipping label of the package I did receive, which of course I have thrown away because it's been weeks since I first got it. The representative then tells me that it's basically the only "proof" they are willing to accept and "could not give refund for that reason". What? I received HALF of my order, how is this something they "can't" give me a refund for? On top of that, I don't see why me having a label would prove anything! As I said there was only ONE item in the package when there should have been TWO. I can't make that any more clear and yet they are treating me like I did something wrong and telling me if I "can't provide proof" that they will "release the payment" to the seller.

SO WORD OF WARNING, never buy more than one item from a seller, because if you are missing things from your order you're probably not going to get any help from the site. I know I sure haven't.

Also, AVOID seller glassdiy

UPDATE:
They force released the payment even though I did NOT get HALF of what I paid for.
So just one last word of warning, I wouldn't recommend spending too much money on this site. When things work out it's fine, but if you ever have a problem you can't count on DHgate helping you, they seem to take the side of the seller 90% of the time no matter what. They truly do not care about their customers.
Ok when it's good, terrible when it's bad
11/15/17
• Previous review
I want to start off by saying that there are many great sellers here that have given me no problem. As far as buying glass items, pipes, adapters etc I have had no problems. HOWEVER I recently tried to buy some tea from a seller named mcgretea and when I received the product a month later I found that the JASMINE pearl tea I had bought had no jasmine scent or taste like it's supposed to. I've bought this type of tea from many different places and I know what it's suppose to smell and look like and what they gave me was not what I had ordered. (also when I tried to brew it the tea leafs came out in smaller pieces as if they had rolled up inferior grade tea in an attempt to make it look better than it actually is.) I tried contacting the seller directly and the only thing they said was "The tea is ok" and wouldn't even acknowledge that they LIED in their products description. I tried to submit a dispute but so far DHGATE themselves have said

"You opened the dispute for the reason oftaste problems. We are sorry to tell you we can not handle these problkems as it can not prove."

(Yes, they missed spelled 'problems', how professional guys)
They have ignored me since even though I said that the seller LIED about their product. I've tried talking with their live chat and they were just as unhelpful as all they did was tell me to make a video as evidence and send it in.

I will update this review if I ever get a refund. In the mean time I'm leaving the 1 star rating. I would leave less if I could.

UPDATE 11/13/2017

After I submitted a video of the brewed tea leafs I was finally given a full refund. I still can't 100% recommend this site after all the hassle I went through to get a refund, but I won't say avoid this site either because there are good sellers on this site with good products. Just not the tea. Avoid the tea and the seller mcgretea.

RE: Response from DHgate C., DHgate Representative

Yeah, I already said I got a refund, if you bothered to actually read the review. This just shows just out of touch with everything this site is.

Tip for consumers: If you buy tea, don't buy from mcgretea

sopportc
DHgate C. – DHgate Rep
Hi Laura,

We are sorry for the experience you had with your order. We checked on your order and we noticed that you've already opened an After-sale dispute about this. As of now, an analyst is currently working on the case and will get in touch with you directly for the updates or feedback of the After-sale case.

For any other questions, please do not hesitate to contact us through the following link: http://www.dhgate.com/contact/contactUs.do?from=nav_menu&ntalker=1 or send an email to customer-support@dhgate.com.

Regards,
Sam
Customer Service Center
DHgate.com
5/1/20
I am SO sick of sites that block you out completely with giant pop up that block the entire site unless you turn your adblock off. NO, I will NOT turn my adblock off, I will just go to another site that doesn't block me out completely for using adblock!
12/24/19
I used to use this site all the time for ecards, but when I tried to send a card today I was completely blocked out of the site because I am using an adblocker!
8/14/19
Yet another site waging war against adblock. Seriously, it is NOT safe to surf random websites WITHOUT adblock on and I am not going to turn it off for some random web site that I have never been to before. At least give me a chance to look at the site before blocking me out completely and demanding that I turn my adblock off!
7/3/19
For some reason ALL of my comments get flagged as spam even though I am NOT posting spam. I tried reporting the issue and apparently they've "been working on it" for over half a year and have STILL not fixed the problem.

EDIT
While trying to contact support I found this bit of information that makes me lose even more respect for this company I already had no respect for.

"Direct support is reserved for paying publishers and large forum moderators. For more information on support levels, see Disqus Plans and Pricing."

What? I have to be a PAID member for you guys to be willing to give me direct support? So that mean that even though they are "working on" my flagged comments (That AREN'T spam but have been flagged as for some reason) that they are actually NOT because that would require DIRECT SUPPORT witch is RESERVED FOR PAID MEMBERS ONLY!

WHAT WEB SITE CHARGES FOR DIRECT SUPPORT?!
6/22/19
For reading manga this site has been functional enough for me. HOWEVER there are a few things that I really do no like about this site.

1. No live subscription updates.
If you follow a manga you will only receive update notifications once a day, where it will list all the manga that had been update the previous day. A minor annoyance, but many other manga sites I've used will have a subscription feed that will update as soon as a new chapter is released. Not this site.

2. I've noticed that if I am logged out (and sometimes when I'm am logged in) that instead of forwarding me to manga hosted on their site I end up reading the manga hosted on OTHER sites, two examples being lady-first.me and fashionlib.net (two sites that have NOTHING to do with manga) I don't know why I am being forwarded to these sites and I really do not appreciate it.

3. The site logs me out randomly for seemingly no reason all the time and I am forced to do a CAPTCHA to be allowed to log back in.

All in all I am ready to stop using this site and switching over to mangadex.org (which I've been using more and more these days)
3/21/19
I've had this VPN for a few months and I regret paying for a full year in advance.
I still get blocked out of many sites that detect I'm using this VPN service, such as Netflix. In fact Virtualshield even states that if you want to use their VPN on these sites you have to pay EXTRA! WHAT? This VPN is already WELL over $100, why do I have to pay extra to use one of the most basic features of a VPN?!

If I'm using this VPN
- Runs slow
- Can't upload anything to twitter, google drive, tumblr and probably many other sites (it always times out)
- Still get blocked by many sites unless I pay extra

In short, DON'T BUY A SUBSCRIPTION FOR THIS VPN! It's not worth it.
2/26/19
Even though I've limited my search to FREE almost half of the results in the FREE section redirect me to PAID content. For the most part it redirects me to shutterstock.com in the section of the results that claim to be free. This is beyond irritating to find something that is perfect only to be redirected to a paid site.
11/13/18
The new policy for Pro and Free users is terrible! In the past when you went from Pro to Free your photos would only been hidden, but now they are going to start deleting your photos if you are a Free user with more than 1,000 photos. I have been using this site since 2005, so I have well over that amount and now might lose all of them if I don't become Pro or back the photos up. Well, with such a horrible policy change out of nowhere there is no way I am willing to give them more money (since I have had a Pro account on and off)

Congratulations Flickr, you have lost a long time member of your site. I used to love this site but every time they change something it just keep getting worse and worse. This is honestly just the last straw.

UPDATE 1/13/2018:
Ok, it seems that they have changed the policy to FREEZE free accounts that have more than 1,000 photos and put older photos above that limit "at risk of being deleted". Slightly better than out-rightly saying that they are going to delete photos over 1,000. However I still disagree with what Flickr is doing and still have no plans on returning to Flickr.
7/14/18
I ordered an XL shirt from them and when it got here the shirt didn't fit as an XL should (way smaller). On top of that the material is super thin their site made no mention of it being thin, just "extra soft". Right, more like "Extra Thin"
When I contacted them about this they sent this list of instructions to me

"I'm sorry to hear about this sizing issue, and am happy to help. Could you please send a photo of the shirt laying flat (_as an attachment_)
Please be sure to:
- Include either a ruler or tape measure all the way across the front (1" below the underarm) displaying the measurements.
- Show the label as best as possible."

What? Why do I have to go through all that effort just for a return? I have shopped at other custom shirt places that charge less than $35 a shirt and didn't need any of that info when I told them the size was incorrect. For example when I ordered from society6.com and the size was wrong they refunded my money when I contacted them, no questions asked. They too do custom print orders, so TeePublic's excuse that they can't provide refund unless it's defective because they are 'print on demand' is BS.
5/26/18
Seriously, why are so many sites doing this these days? It's super annoying and the only thing it does it make me use another site to get the info I wanted. It doesn't make me disable my adblock like the sites seem to think it will. Because like I said I can just to go another site that doesn't completely block you out just for using adblock.
1/17/18
I tried to download something and it said I needed an account, made NO mention of payment. I made an account and when I tried to download a sound it demanded that I sign up for their subscription service. Aside form being misleading, their prices are TERRIBLE! 5 Downloads for $15 USD! That's ridiculous!
1/2/18
Even though you can look for free fonts the only thing you will find is a bunch of wingdings and they will charge for the actual fonts that they misleading list in the "free" search results.
11/12/17
Navigating the site used to be a bit of a challenge but I was able to at least view all my subscriptions recent uploads in one page. But with the redesign they not only manged to make the site even less functional than it was before, they decided to remove a bunch of features. When I go to "For You" it shows me only a couple of videos that my subscriptions have uploaded and a bunch of video it thinks I want to watch. I can't figure out how to view ONLY my subscription uploads like in the past where they used to have a feed like page for that.
10/21/17
When I try to download anything from people using these links I get spammed with "Your computer has a virus" scam alters, causing dozen of popups to get in my way, freezing my browser and preventing me from getting to link I was trying to get to. Please, if you have to use one of those annoying url shortening site to make a buck use something other than this one. At least adf.ly doesn't freeze my web browser
3/4/17
I thought I would look myself up just for fun, but after going through a ton of forms I was eventually asked to pay for the results.
5/29/16
For everyone that says this site is garbage I have to disagree. While there are MANY scammers out there I do have to point out that there are MANY different people selling things here, much like ebay. (actually a lot of people that sell here sell on ebay as well) However most things here are dirt cheap and honestly you can't expect great quality for the prices. What you can expect is to save money on things like stationary or other things that don't need to be high quality to use. But I do suggest that you look at the reviews for EACH item before buying to see if the item is worth it/if there was any problems getting it/etc.
Another thing that people seem to be complaining about it having problem getting refunds. I've personally have never had any problems getting refunds from sellers, you just have to contact the seller directly and then open a Dispute. I've gotten my money back with out any problems so far.
Though shipping dose take a LONG time as most of these things are coming from China or over seas in general. But for the most part shipping is free so I really can't complain.

L Has Earned 106 Votes

L T.'s review of Society6 earned 22 Very Helpful votes

L T.'s review of TeePublic earned 11 Very Helpful votes

L T.'s review of discordemoji.com earned 2 Very Helpful votes

L T.'s review of VirtualShield earned 2 Very Helpful votes

L T.'s review of DHgate earned a Very Helpful vote

L T.'s review of dvdvideosoft.com earned a Very Helpful vote

L T.'s review of Disqus earned 7 Very Helpful votes

L T.'s review of Freepik earned a Very Helpful vote

L T.'s review of Shorte.st Links earned 3 Very Helpful votes

L T.'s review of Disqus earned a Well Said vote

L T.'s review of mangago.me earned 2 Very Helpful votes

L T.'s review of Adfly earned 5 Very Helpful votes

L T.'s review of BlueMountain earned 3 Very Helpful votes

L T.'s review of DailyMotion earned 6 Very Helpful votes

L T.'s review of Soundsnap earned 4 Very Helpful votes

L T.'s review of Fonts.com earned a Very Helpful vote

L T.'s review of flickr earned 2 Very Helpful votes

L T.'s review of Truthfinder.com earned 15 Very Helpful votes

L T.'s review of DailyMotion earned a Well Said vote

L T.'s review of AliExpress earned 2 Very Helpful votes

See more items

L hasn’t received any thanks yous.

L doesn’t have any fans yet.

L isn’t following anybody yet.

Similar Reviewers on Sitejabber

janikas
9/25/20

The only thing I was deceived about was the extra 30$ for border duty that end up costing more...

carsynn
8/5/20

I had ordered the wrong sized tapestry and made a request to go through with an exchange....