We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
  • Bookmark

    eBay UK

Corporate Values

Overview

eBay UK has a consumer rating of 2.98 stars from 111 reviews indicating that most customers are generally dissatisfied with their purchases. Consumers complaining about eBay UK most frequently mention tracking number, order date and top watch4u problems. eBay UK ranks 44th among Marketplace sites.

  • Service
    6
  • Value
    4
  • Shipping
    3
  • Returns
    3
  • Quality
    4
Positive reviews (last 12 months): 12.5%
Positive
1
Neutral
2
Negative
5
View ratings trends
6
See all photos

What reviewers want you to know

Positive highlights

  • Ebay usually offers several of the same item from diverse sellers.
  • Iv always used eBay, find the right buyer one with experience and plenty of reviews and no issues.

Critical highlights

  • I also take issue with navigating the after sales/customer service side of things.
  • But of late I have been ripped off by rogue sellers on numerous occasions.
How would you rate eBay UK?
Top Positive Review

“5/5”

William M.
2/1/20

Always happy with purchases both with quality and delivery time. Prefer it over amazon and no hassle checking out

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“Goods not received and courier won't provide evidence of delivery”

R W.
7/29/20

Ebay made me prove I had not received the goods from "Alice" by contacting courier and asking for evidence. I did so 3 times and courier failed to respond on each occasion. Seller has been believed even though I have not had the goods and was in the day(s) the courier said they were delivered - both 8 and 18 June for one item! Avoid. I have cancelled my membership of Ebay and caution against seller.

See critical reviews

Reviews (111)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

Reviews that mention popular keywords

customer service (17) item (48) sellers (28) buyer (33) paypal account (3) post office (3) return (13) refund (23)
rw448
3 reviews
21 helpful votes
July 29th, 2020
Ebay made me prove I had not received the goods from "Alice" by contacting courier and asking for evidence. I did so 3 times and courier failed to respond on each occasion. Seller has been believed even though I have not had the goods and was in the day(s) the courier said they were delivered - both 8 and 18 June for one item! Avoid. I have cancelled my membership of Ebay and caution against seller.
terryo42
5 reviews
25 helpful votes
September 14th, 2020
I purchased an item through eBay, the item has not arrived. EBay is making every excuse in favour of the seller, allowing them extra time for the item to arrive. When they should have the seller blocked, and refund me my hard-earned cash. I have been a member since 2007. And they could not care less about me. Their attitude on chat is deplorable and arrogant. I am closing my account shortly and I would advise anyone thinking of opening one or thinking of purchasing anything through eBay to think long and hard before doing so. They are the worst to communicate with, you cannot email, it is blocked. I've tried phoning only to be cut off after several minutes on hold. Chat is stressful and a total waste of time. Be Warned!
emmae147
3 reviews
0 helpful votes
October 18th, 2020
I can't speak for selling anything there, but from the buying side of it, some items arrive faster than others. Depends on the seller.
matthewm590
5 reviews
15 helpful votes
November 20th, 2019
I can say they deliver what they show on their site. Need to improve their delivery time took over a week to deliver my parcel.
jamesh2651
12 reviews
11 helpful votes
November 10th, 2020
I use eBay quite often for the most part. I switched to them after experiencing Amazon's dodgy search engine and business practises. You really need to beware of what is offered. READ IT CAREFULLY! There are plenty of dodgy sellers that will say one thing in the title, but something totally different in the advert. For example I was looking at a MacBook pro computer from 2014. The title said it was brand new. The description said it was refurbished with "brand new refurbished parts." A clear conflict in terminology to confuse potential buyers.
The real problem with adverts like these is eBay refuses to do anything about them. You report the advert, but it's never removed or changed. This particular advert is still there, unchanged after reporting it weeks ago! Next is the search engine. When I search for something, I am usually very specific about what I want. I include an exact description, model numbers, etc. Do I get what I want? Yes and no, but more often than Amazon. EBay has also adopted the practise of loading your search results with useless rubbish that isn't related to your search. They seem to think it will entice you to buy what ever rubbish they feed you. No... i just close the page and purchase nothing! And finally the area in which you search. Call me stupid, but I thought when you select "UK Only" it means you will only see results from the UK. Nope... You'll get loads of results from the USA and Australia... but not the EU... wonder why. I won't purchase, say a MacBook Pro, from the USA or Australia. You get screwed with Paypal's exchange rate, you get screwed on the shipping and you get screwed on the import tax. Need I say more?
A final note... if you have a problem with a seller, DO NOT CONTACT EBAY! Open a dispute with PayPal instead. Unlike eBay, PayPal is a financial institution and are governed by the same authority governing banks. They are required, by law, to investigate the dispute, just as your bank would investigate. I would say around 90% of the time you'll get a refund from PayPal. If your parcel doesn't arrive, PayPal will require the SELLER to provide tracking information and proof of delivery. EBay requires YOU to prove that you didn't get the parcel... and just how are you supposed to do that?
kevinc532
5 reviews
18 helpful votes
December 14th, 2018
I love Ebay, I spend hours on it almost every day. However, I am going to give my 2 cents worth on the downsides. Their website could be drastically improved. There are a lot of issues with searching for items.

For example I live in Ireland but when I search for items with shipping to Ireland items that won't ship come up in the search. This slows my search drastically. It is very easy to get caught out on shipping too. When you are doing your search items have a shipping cost at the bottom of the add. When you click into the ad this could change drastically. Also the shipping charges are very often excessively high. I can almost always beat there prices as a private consumer with a courier than they charge and by quite a margin.

When purchasing more than one item from a seller, the price for shipping often goes up at the same rate. This is sharp practice in my opinion. I also take issue with navigating the after sales/customer service side of things. It is very frustrating and you would need to go on a course to figure it all out.

All in all, I am happy with Ebay. I cannot wait until they extend the full buyer protection beyond Pay Pal. A very welcome development indeed.
md497
2 reviews
17 helpful votes
August 18th, 2020
I have used ebay in the past as a infrequent buyer and it has generally been ok. Recently I decided to start selling on ebay, I had some products so set up an account and listed my items. I researched prices from other sellers who were selling similar items and followed the ebay system as it asked me find similar items so i could post in the right categories... all seemed to be fine, the items were listed and started to get views etc.
This morning i received a email telling me my account was suspended, it provided no reasons at all for the suspension so i contacted their customer service via the online chat and they essentially refused to give me any reasons for the suspension and disconnected me when i tried to discuss the issue. If i have broken any rules its completely accidental and i would have been willing to make any required changes but they have literally suspended the account and then removed me from their system without any rationale being given and now refuse to discuss it... basically high handed and impossible to work with
laryl1
3 reviews
3 helpful votes
August 25th, 2017
I loved the idea and the concept of ebay but their customer service is very bad.
I would recommend to pay via your credit card and not use pay pal.
williamm1523
4 reviews
5 helpful votes
February 1st, 2020
Always happy with purchases both with quality and delivery time. Prefer it over amazon and no hassle checking out
skyeh14
32 reviews
7 helpful votes
October 16th, 2020
I brought mi tv stick its slow it don't work properly abd it freezes to alot so becareful if you get this item seller does harassing customers when you ask to stop the seller carries it on harassing you...
michaelr2681
1 review
0 helpful votes
November 16th, 2020
Ebay really has done quite well in COVID regarding being able to contact support for its sellers. The problem being that is all lost, all wasted if they are not supporting the sellers that sold 50,000 items (personally packaged every one by hand) and been with them over 20 years!
When a buyer abuses an Ebay policy you can not then say ah yes we can see that's the case but we are going to make you personally pay for it - that's real abuse. You really after 20 years have not moved on your still operating in a Corporate bully boy way and the reason for that is because you can! And for that reason I removed 880 listings today and closed my shop - because I can - In fact it does not suit me at all in any way but otherwise I got to live with myself accepting you can cheat me and bully me because even though you know you are in the wrong you can do - disguisting absolutely horrible. You forced my hand because I otherwise feel I am accepting whatever even against your own policies you decide to throw at me and then you can treat me like worthless rubbish so you clearly tried and this time you can't, well not without some consequence. I hope this guides other people about how strongly your willing to support the policies you made up - In this case where you clearly know I'm in the right the policy is 100 percent worthless and you allow the buyer to abuse it at my expense. HOW CAN I TRADE WITH YOU - TELL ME
raymonh3
2 reviews
19 helpful votes
May 13th, 2019
I regularly look to renew my cars and used to use ebay UK to aid my search, as I live in france but prefer to drive right hand drive cars as I visit my family in the UK quite often mit is not easy for me to simply pop on to a forecourt to view possible choices.
I have found that almost every advertisement for a private sale is a dealer, every statement of service history is a lie and almost every car has at least one accident in its history. When I report the most egregious cases to ebay they do nothing and deny any responsibility to investigate or check the frequent fraudulent users and they money lost to them. Caveat emptor has never been more applicable. Don't use the site or if you must check the MOT history via the government web site and do a full HPI check even though this is expensive if you are just looking.
Also watch out for the stolen user id's. Exellent feedback for selling anything other than cars or items below 10 pounds yet suddenly they are selling dozens of high priced cars.
I regularly find multiple instances of this and examples of phishing sites, so be very careful who and how you contact anyone. It is a great shame that ebay does not care to clean up this part of its on line empire, some of the other sections are excellent.
wajida5
8 reviews
26 helpful votes
December 21st, 2018
I bough phone accessories several times from them and the amazing thing about them is the customer service, they are fast, reliable and Original products.
Highly Recommended
nk50
1 review
2 helpful votes
April 22nd, 2019
Clothes ridiculously small. Ask you to pay for returns then never refund you. Liars and cheats and time wasters. Avoid.
andrewn54
3 reviews
5 helpful votes
November 2nd, 2017
Ebay almost always favors the buyer in case of any disputes or problems, so have that in mind if you'd like to start selling your stuff there.
justicej5
1 review
5 helpful votes
June 19th, 2019
Don't be fooled by Hausrange 100% positive feedback. I knew i was fooled once and writing this for potential buyer out there.
I bought an item based on their 100% positive feedback and Uk based. Item did not arrived on estimated date and waited another 2 days but it did not arrive at all.
Contact seller and offer to resend i ve refused as this item for birthday present so no point.( it really cause inconvenience as i have to go looking for other item at last minute)

They state the reason is because their courier service damaged the item, and also other reason that are not add up the whole story.
Please do check on their natural feedback which reviewed on the same courier issues.
I've bought my item after reading this feedback(my bad) and they obviously done nothing to prevent this problem from occurring again.
For 100% positive feedback seller, this problem should not happen.

Another DISTURBING FACT- this seller have a habit of deleting their negative review.
I know that because i leave one, and as i check on their page every so often, they did the same with other people who leave negative review and they've done it pretty quickly.
Its like they re power seller in ebay and nobody can touch them.
If you do buy form them and leave a review- maybe leave neutral instead negative, at least your review wont get deleted.
Its an obvious seller that cheat buyer with their corrupt 100% positive feedback
charlottec38
2 reviews
21 helpful votes
April 17th, 2017
I hardly had a problem shopping at ebay, and they respond effectively and quickly if you don't receive an item. The only thing I would change is that they should allow to put more detailed feedback and also change it when necessary. I recommend Ebay
marks608
6 reviews
23 helpful votes
February 27th, 2018
EBay are a law unto themselves they totally back buyers and do not care about the sellers who pay huge fees to fund their lifestyles. Ebay have policies in place but totally ignore them to keep buyers happy. Its kind of strange as its the sellers that pay the huge fees, not the buyers so why punish honest sellers? This week alone I have lost over £50 to a buyer who purchased an item, used it and said they did not like it and returned it. Its a vaping tank and is classed as a personal item so cannot be returned if used, this is an eBay policy but they totally ignored it. The same buyer purchased another item, to get around the personal item rule they said it was faulty even though I know its not they have left negative feedback on my account. I had 100% positive feedback until this happened but eBay ignore that and believe the buyer despite my over 3000 positive reviews one buyer can ruin that. Surely anyone with a brain cell can work out if a seller has over 3000 positive feedback reviews and then one buyer complains in a week about two items there is something wrong with the buyer. They dont care so avoid them if you can. Trouble is and they know this sadly people want to help eBay by buying through it and not websites. Use your loaf, find your item in ebay, search the sellers name online and find their company as its usually cheaper and your not making eBay fatter wallets
roosg1
1 review
15 helpful votes
April 1st, 2017
I'm an ebay seller and have just closed my shop due to constant theft that ebay allows. If you want free stuff shop on ebay, all you need to do is claim you never got your item as most sellers like myself (in order to remain competitive on prices) do not send items with tracking so get your item and then open a case to claim you didn't. Ebay will ask the buyer for a tracking number if they don't provide one you get your money back... easy, shame ebay treat sellers in such a way as without sellers they don't have a business!
johnh718
3 reviews
14 helpful votes
September 10th, 2018
Despite the fact that EBAY were informed that I didn't receive the item I have paid for, the tracking number supplied by the vendor is not recognised by the carrier, and the item is not where the vendor claims it is, their customer services decided I was not due a refund, robbed by these scam artists
fabbyb
1 review
2 helpful votes
January 6th, 2016
Agmplaza - online shop
At the beginning of December I ordered an item - sent an email regarding post and as I didn't receive a quick reply sent money via PayPal to the company's email address. I contacted the company to say I had done so.
During the month I received payment demands for the item. I left a negative review on Ebay which since was removed. Just before Christmas I recalled my money.
What does it take before Ebay removes a vendor who only causes distress (84 complaints in 6 months!
fayeg32
3 reviews
6 helpful votes
November 15th, 2019
Why is eBay full of Chinese fakes these days? It's not as good as it used to be, and their customer service and refunds policy has really gone down hill. So disappointing
shanem54
6 reviews
20 helpful votes
April 11th, 2016
Great shopping on-line but when i comes to selling be very careful as you can get into debt like i have when things are automatically re-listed if you tick the box. But overall i think they could be a little bit more fair regarding listing fees and also regarding holding funds as a new customer /seller but they still like taking their fees thats what is really frustrating. But as a buyer great site 100% recommend Shane, Manchester uk.
stewartc28
6 reviews
14 helpful votes
September 25th, 2017
With 'customer service' this bad, I wonder why serious businesses even bother with the hassle of selling on eBay any more. I know I had to stop for the sake of my mental health.

The danger for sellers is that, because of eBay's vast reach and the millions of part-time, non VAT-registered sellers, many businesses are often selling at lower prices than on their own website, despite eBay's ever-increasing charges (remember when they were about 5% and no fees on postage?).

The consequence could be that in another decade or two, nearly all internet sales are handled through third party sites like eBay and Amazon. Businesses will basically no longer be independent, increasing merchandise will be banned as they are deemed politically incorrect (such as all Confederate flag items, as just one example).

They will be able to set prices by setting their fees (why stop at 10% plus rip-off PayPal fees?) and we will only have easy access to the books they think we ought to read and the music and films we should own and the food we should eat.

Join me in boycotting eBay, as a seller and as a buyer, otherwise we will be at the mercy of these kind of companies and in my experience, they don't do much inn the way of mercy.
alisong32
1 review
1 helpful vote
August 1st, 2017
Obstructive and inpenetrable rules. Restricted my account saying I was trying to sell off ebay when I wasn't (apparently using their own messaging system to answer questions about the item you're selling is against their rules?!) Their 'seller protection' has previously been completely useless and their fees are massively disproportionate to what they're doing. I'm off to Schpock/Gumtree.

Tip for consumers: Don't

Service
Value

Q&A (2)

Answer:

Customer service doesn't exist. They never answer, unless you're threatening to cost them big money.

By James H.
Answer:

It varies. Each item has an estimated date to you. Look closely at the page, underneath the item where it describes the shipping.

By James H.

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the eBay UK staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

Buy and sell electronics, cars, fashion apparel, collectibles, sporting goods, digital cameras, baby items, coupons, and everything else on eBay, the world's online marketplace

How do I know I can trust these reviews about eBay UK?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members
Have a question about eBay UK?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business