We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
  • Bookmark

    Very.co.uk

Corporate Values

Overview

Very.co.uk has a consumer rating of 2 stars from 15 reviews indicating that most customers are generally dissatisfied with their purchases. Very.co.uk ranks 293rd among Furniture sites.

Positive reviews (last 12 months): 0%
Positive
0
Neutral
0
Negative
4
View ratings trends
How would you rate Very.co.uk?
Top Positive Review

“I think it often depends on your own experience as...”

Helen W.
3/29/14

I think it often depends on your own experience as to whether you got a good service or not. I see a couple of unhappy people on here but I order came without any hassle at all. Ordered a few clothes for my little girl and all 3 items arrived and fitted nicely. She will look great at the birthday party now!

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“Very bad customer service”

KATY A.
3/4/20

I simply called to make a payment and it took me 30 minutes over the phone just to make a payment! Absolutely ridiculous and a waste of time. The customer service assistants do not value your time and can keep you on the phone all day. If I didn't try and rush the lady, she could have happily taken even longer to do this simple task. Usually I pay online but as I was away, there was no option but to call. Very unhappy with the customer service.

See critical reviews

Reviews (15)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

helenw23
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
March 29th, 2014
I think it often depends on your own experience as to whether you got a good service or not. I see a couple of unhappy people on here but I order came without any hassle at all. Ordered a few clothes for my little girl and all 3 items arrived and fitted nicely. She will look great at the birthday party now!
katya15
3 reviews
1 helpful vote
March 4th, 2020
I simply called to make a payment and it took me 30 minutes over the phone just to make a payment! Absolutely ridiculous and a waste of time. The customer service assistants do not value your time and can keep you on the phone all day. If I didn't try and rush the lady, she could have happily taken even longer to do this simple task. Usually I pay online but as I was away, there was no option but to call. Very unhappy with the customer service.
martinb91
2 reviews
7 helpful votes
February 17th, 2020
I received a camera from Very in November 2019 which was faulty. Very have refused to replace, refused to repair it and refused to refund me. The camera has not ever taken a single picture. I have no idea how Very get away with this. As the camera was a warranty replacement I don't have the option of reclaiming my money via the credit card company either. Don't shop with Very under any circumstances unless you like throwing money down the drain.
stephk13
1 review
0 helpful votes
October 9th, 2020
In a nutshell my credit rating is now poor and I couldn't even take out a credit card if I wanted one. My husband and I can't get a mortgage as I have a default registered under my name for the next 6 years. This is as a result of Very creating a second account and I didn't notice for some time because the direct debit was small at around £5 per month. When my husband and I got a joint account I changed the direct debit to come out of there. Then I was notified by my old bank a direct debit still active. I called Very and asked if there is maybe another account by mistake. Gave them my maiden name, old address but they couldn't find anything and told me to cancel that direct debit. It turns out I did have another account but I found out when my husband received a call from Lowell debt collector. They got his number from the Government gateway! Very excuse is they wrote to me a few times and hands up I didn't open my post because I get inundated with offers from Very and when I opened my post after speaking with Lowell some some were offers and some collecting debt. I work in Care and have been working solidly since COVID with family bereavements. Who wants to open Very letters with offers when you lose someone you love? Even though I was paying one account on time at the same time they didn't match the two addresses and didn't take long to sell my debt for all of £100. BUT it has taken them 3 months to deal with my complaint due to reduced staff because of the virus and say they have looked into it and no record of my calls. My call provider have sent me my call list and financial ombudsman have been notified. This company don't care and need to be stopped!
flickc1
1 review
1 helpful vote
January 11th, 2020
I wish 0 starts was an option! DO NOT USE VERY IF YOU VALUE YOUR MONEY! My partner and I both purchased an Xbox for Christmas, from our seperet Very accounts. I had the money in my account to be taken there an then. Confirmed with the bank the money had been taken, and received my xbox no drama, same with my partner. Very then refunded the money into my account without my knowledge, and then I receive letters in the post about miss payments. I call the bank to find out what had happened, and Very had not taken the money out of my account, it had been refunded and in fact set me up with 3 months credit without my knowledge! Due to missed payments interest was added, and the bank told me it was worth making an enquiry with trading standards due to the fault being on Very's behalf. I later found out the same had happened to my partner. I couldn't be bothered with the hassle, and my partner logged onto both of our accounts to pay the full amount (including interest) from his card. I then receive a "well being" call to check that I am okay and that I can make the payment. I inform them that my partner paid the fee that morning, and I was told that he hadn't. I said I had proof to say that the money had been taken, and they said that it may be pending and to double check the following day. My partner also received this call, and told them the same thing, that he had paid the full about including interest on his card that morning. He was told that there wasn't nothing on the system, and that it "probably needed to be updated, no worries." It's a bit strange that one person told me that it was my responsibily to chase it, and the other told my partner not to worry. Anxious, this morning I log into my account to see the money had not been cleared, and they had in fact added another £12 interest to my account without my knowledge! My partner logged into his, to find the same thing! He called Very to be told that we had both been charged £12 for the "courtesy" call without our knowledge or consent! He paid his balance over the phone and confirmed his Very balance has gone back to £0. He was told he could not pay for my account using his card too. I am absolutely disgusted with the way we have been treated. Very are con artists! Scamming people out of their money without their knowledge. Rest assured I will be calling them today to pay the balance off and will be closing the account PROMPTLY. I will also be making a formal complaint, and leaving as many reviews as possible to people are aware not to fall into the trap. All we wanted was an Xbox for Christmas, and we've had to pay nearly £25 extra interest on top, which is not a lot, but for a young person who has just surgery and is not working at the moment, I'm wondering where I'm going to find this extra money from! STAY CLEAR FROM VERY and their ridiculous hidden fees!
keithm91
1 review
2 helpful votes
December 6th, 2016
Refusal by Very to get in touch with me about a wardrobe with faulty parts, missing items and one which they knew had been return faulty before by another customer due to scratch marks where they had lifted doors into position. Told parts were ordered, then told out of

Stock, then lied by saying they had tried to call me, lied 3 times that managers were at meetings, informed to contact a queries e mail that bounced back unmonitored. After multiple hours on telephone line waiting by me (my cost) no-one will return my call after promising over and over and even after talking to a manager who said could discount and would get someone to call me, she has no authority to even do so. Worst retail experience I've ever had. Legalised fraud
clairer38
20 reviews
12 helpful votes
January 27th, 2018
Overpriced, Fake Cashback deals and horrendous customer service phone lines. I used to love Very but they have gone downhill terribly.
hayleyu
4 reviews
5 helpful votes
July 23rd, 2011
Good products and okay pricing but just try getting any sense if you need further information from them... I bought an over the bed storage unit which didn't come with dimensions (really important if you've got to fit it around your bed) and it took me literally eight e-mails, two live support sessions and three phone calls to try and get this information from them. In the end I ended up asking an eBay seller who was selling the same thing!
laurad91
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
March 11th, 2016
My son purchased a laptop through his Very account in Dec 2014 as my Xmas gift. The lap top was faulty (the USB ports do not work, the keys do not work, the headphone jack does not work) and we reported it after the Xmas holidays. We were given a telephone number to call but the number was invalid, we sent several emails, made several calls, posted on social but have been completely ignored! It's been over a year and we still have this faulty laptop... It is now out of warranty and we have no choice but to go to Trading Standards now. **DISGUSTED**
paigeb5
6 reviews
22 helpful votes
January 9th, 2015
Easy to use website and good check out system. And offer a really wide range of products!
alant27
1 review
3 helpful votes
December 16th, 2013
I cannot express how disappointed I am with the lack of customer care and service that this company give
The advertisements are very very misleading.
I have been trying to get a camera delivered to me that I paid for, for over two weeks now. Yodell the courier company have 'mislaid' the camera and Very are still not accepting responsibility! I was told today to re order and pay for another one!
Please avoid
lesleyb1
5 reviews
7 helpful votes
September 7th, 2010
Be careful when using this site. I got refunded for an item I had never ordered and the company then wrote to me to ask what I had sent back to them. When I replied that I hadn't ordered or sent anything back, then then sent me an overdue invoice for £30! I have argued the toss but they still think they're right.
kims5
1 review
3 helpful votes
December 31st, 2010
Very delayed an order I had made by 60 days - no good to me please cancel it I say. No problem they say but we'll still have to deliver the accessories. Why? What good are they to me? Sorry that's your problem - they say. I say I'll refuse delivery - but they leave them by my bins. I'm still trying to return the items! More days off work waiting for collection agents that never come. Don't shop with Very - they are $#@!
justiner
4 reviews
16 helpful votes
May 23rd, 2011
Site looks pretty but absolutely terrible service. Ordered a bed and mattress deal in early Feb and recieved wrong headboard (meaning I couldn't put the entire bed together) in early March. After delivery I called the company to have it picked back up and was told I had to contact the delivery company first, file a claim, then call them back to file a claim with Very.co.uk. The delivery company then picked up the piece but couldn't deliver the right piece until I placed the order again with Very. Called Very up and they had canceled my order and wanted me to not only replace it but pay the current jacked up price versus the original price. After speaking with three different reps and a manager, I was finally able to place the order for the right piece at the original price. Then had to call the delivery company again to schedule the delivery. Worst of all, the entire mattress and bed aren't even guest room worthy since it's very poor materials and the mattress makes the wood floor look more comfortable. Would never ever recommend this site to anyone.
raphaela5
10 reviews
2 helpful votes
January 21st, 2015

Q&A (0)

Questions? Get answers from the Very.co.uk staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

Shop Very for women's, men's and kids fashion plus furniture, homewares and electricals. Free next day delivery on 1000's of products and affordable ways to pay

How do I know I can trust these reviews about Very.co.uk?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members
Have a question about Very.co.uk?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business